Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 13, 2013

Sept. 13, 2013: Letters to the editor

Conditions for juwi were settled in March

The Tipton County BZA Bylaws and Rules and Procedures prove that since March, the board remained true to its rules and procedures, despite the manipulation tactics by others. In the juwi Wind matter, the BZA has been consistently set aside as a board that was just supposed to do what it was told when the time came. The scoundrels in this saga are those who wanted to use the BZA as a means to help juwi get an appealable decision so it could go to court.

None of juwi’s requests since March were allowable in the BZA rules, therefore no “due process” was denied. Article IV describes what matters warrant a public hearing. Juwi’s persistent requests for a “modification of conditions” hearing is not contained in that list.

Article VIII is “Final Disposition of Cases”. “Final Disposition” means the final settlement or closing of a matter. “The final disposition of an application for a conditional use shall be in the form of a Board resolution either granting with or without conditions or denying the application sought.” The findings of fact, written by county attorney John Brooke and signed by the members, is the resolution/judgment in the matter of the conditional use application by juwi. The decision was final. Juwi had 30 days in which to appeal the decision to the court. It did not.

Instead it asked the BZA to re-open the case and conduct a hearing on the conditions placed on the approval. According to Article IX, only the board can amend its rules and procedures in a regular meeting (not a public hearing) of the BZA to allow that.

On June 24, the members read in the paper that they agreed to publicly hear a request for modification of conditions from juwi, even though they never met to amend their rules. On July 31 President Acres stated the board first needed to decide if it wanted to hear a request for modification of conditions on a case that had been closed. The motion was made not to stray from the rules and included in a restatement of the motion was the phrase, “the Board will not entertain hearing any modifications to the conditions.” The motion passed.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll