Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 13, 2013

Sept. 13, 2013: Letters to the editor

Conditions for juwi were settled in March

The Tipton County BZA Bylaws and Rules and Procedures prove that since March, the board remained true to its rules and procedures, despite the manipulation tactics by others. In the juwi Wind matter, the BZA has been consistently set aside as a board that was just supposed to do what it was told when the time came. The scoundrels in this saga are those who wanted to use the BZA as a means to help juwi get an appealable decision so it could go to court.

None of juwi’s requests since March were allowable in the BZA rules, therefore no “due process” was denied. Article IV describes what matters warrant a public hearing. Juwi’s persistent requests for a “modification of conditions” hearing is not contained in that list.

Article VIII is “Final Disposition of Cases”. “Final Disposition” means the final settlement or closing of a matter. “The final disposition of an application for a conditional use shall be in the form of a Board resolution either granting with or without conditions or denying the application sought.” The findings of fact, written by county attorney John Brooke and signed by the members, is the resolution/judgment in the matter of the conditional use application by juwi. The decision was final. Juwi had 30 days in which to appeal the decision to the court. It did not.

Instead it asked the BZA to re-open the case and conduct a hearing on the conditions placed on the approval. According to Article IX, only the board can amend its rules and procedures in a regular meeting (not a public hearing) of the BZA to allow that.

On June 24, the members read in the paper that they agreed to publicly hear a request for modification of conditions from juwi, even though they never met to amend their rules. On July 31 President Acres stated the board first needed to decide if it wanted to hear a request for modification of conditions on a case that had been closed. The motion was made not to stray from the rules and included in a restatement of the motion was the phrase, “the Board will not entertain hearing any modifications to the conditions.” The motion passed.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll