Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 14, 2013

Sept. 14, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Lives ‘changed for the better’

Bruce and Lisa LeClerc, event coordinators for Day of C.H.A.N.G.E., send this Cheer:

“We want to thank all those involved with this year’s Day of C.H.A.N.G.E. event.

“First, we’d like to thank our major sponsors: St. Patrick Catholic Church, St. Joan of Arc Catholic Church and USW Local 2958. Thanks to Flodder’s Sawmill for its generous donation of wood pieces for our art auction and the artists who transformed them. Thanks to Kokomo Art Association, Artworks Gallery, Bohemian Tattoo Club artists, IU Kokomo art students and instructor Minda Douglas, Kokomo High School art students and teacher Allison Brothers Hatcher and many other local artists.

“Thanks to those providing entertainment and food: Liberty Ladies, Curtain Call Children’s Theatre under the direction of Melody Pike, the Empire of Chivalry and Steel with Celtic dancers Rose Gates and Zoey Blackwell and Celtic singer Amber Everling, Sally Duke, Maurice Hardiman, R3M3DY, Tim Garthright, Branded Bluegrass, Dairy Queen, Drakes Bar & Grill, Bailey Concessions, Brickhouse Restaurant, Kokomo Concessions.

“Thanks to Hoosier Family Radio and Jessica Green and Chris Stevens of Z92FIVE for the live broadcast and emceeing the raft race. Thanks to Markland Mall and Mary Martin, Howard Print Shop, TeamWorks Apparel Co., Lisa Hill of Farmers Insurance, the City of Kokomo, the Parks and Recreation Department, Coca-Cola, Calvary Baptist Church, Kohl’s Department Store, The Crossing (for getting wet and losing their shoes), Maple Grove Community Church, Ralph Hendershot, Stewart’s Health Care Consultants, Rotary Club of Kokomo Early Risers, the Rotary Club of Kokomo, Rich’s Mobile Entertainment, Altrusa and Marilyn Skinner, Curt Alexander, Haynes Federal Credit Union, Morning Star Church, the Knights of Columbus, Dixon Park Dental Care, 20/20 Vision, Killingbeck Insurance, The Wyman Group, Community First Bank, Haynes International, UAW Local 292 Retirees, Carpenters Local 615, the Elks Lodge 429, the Kokomo Herald and Don and Shannon Crouch and graphic designing by Chrissy Boyd, the Kokomo Perspective and Samantha Thieke, the many retailers who allowed us to put up change jars.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll