Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

September 14, 2013

Sept. 14, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

Lives ‘changed for the better’

Bruce and Lisa LeClerc, event coordinators for Day of C.H.A.N.G.E., send this Cheer:

“We want to thank all those involved with this year’s Day of C.H.A.N.G.E. event.

“First, we’d like to thank our major sponsors: St. Patrick Catholic Church, St. Joan of Arc Catholic Church and USW Local 2958. Thanks to Flodder’s Sawmill for its generous donation of wood pieces for our art auction and the artists who transformed them. Thanks to Kokomo Art Association, Artworks Gallery, Bohemian Tattoo Club artists, IU Kokomo art students and instructor Minda Douglas, Kokomo High School art students and teacher Allison Brothers Hatcher and many other local artists.

“Thanks to those providing entertainment and food: Liberty Ladies, Curtain Call Children’s Theatre under the direction of Melody Pike, the Empire of Chivalry and Steel with Celtic dancers Rose Gates and Zoey Blackwell and Celtic singer Amber Everling, Sally Duke, Maurice Hardiman, R3M3DY, Tim Garthright, Branded Bluegrass, Dairy Queen, Drakes Bar & Grill, Bailey Concessions, Brickhouse Restaurant, Kokomo Concessions.

“Thanks to Hoosier Family Radio and Jessica Green and Chris Stevens of Z92FIVE for the live broadcast and emceeing the raft race. Thanks to Markland Mall and Mary Martin, Howard Print Shop, TeamWorks Apparel Co., Lisa Hill of Farmers Insurance, the City of Kokomo, the Parks and Recreation Department, Coca-Cola, Calvary Baptist Church, Kohl’s Department Store, The Crossing (for getting wet and losing their shoes), Maple Grove Community Church, Ralph Hendershot, Stewart’s Health Care Consultants, Rotary Club of Kokomo Early Risers, the Rotary Club of Kokomo, Rich’s Mobile Entertainment, Altrusa and Marilyn Skinner, Curt Alexander, Haynes Federal Credit Union, Morning Star Church, the Knights of Columbus, Dixon Park Dental Care, 20/20 Vision, Killingbeck Insurance, The Wyman Group, Community First Bank, Haynes International, UAW Local 292 Retirees, Carpenters Local 615, the Elks Lodge 429, the Kokomo Herald and Don and Shannon Crouch and graphic designing by Chrissy Boyd, the Kokomo Perspective and Samantha Thieke, the many retailers who allowed us to put up change jars.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll