Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 14, 2013

Sept. 14, 2013: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

“A special thank-you to our 10 agencies: Advantage Housing, Birthright, CAM Inc., Carver Center, Family Service Association, Gilead House, Kokomo Habitat for Humanity, Loving Hands Adult Day Care, New Leaf Mentoring, Sole Searchers Shoe Program, the many CAM residents who did many volunteer jobs under the direction of Darin Bogue, all the members of our community who supported Day of C.H.A.N.G.E. by attending and bringing their change, and our children Ashley, Madison, Cam, Caleb, MaryRose and Isabella, and our grandson Jacoby. Without their support, encouragement and sacrifices, this day is not as successful or as meaningful.

“And last and most importantly we at Day of C.H.A.N.G.E. thank God for his providential grace and mercy. Because people’s lives are changed for the better, Day of C.H.A.N.G.E. will return next year. Keep us in your prayers and save your change.”

Firefighters serve 770 dinners

Judy Stroud-McIntire of Galveston sends this Cheer:

“I would like to thank all the people and the businesses that made it possible for the Walton Community Volunteer Fire Department to have a successful Fireworks Festival Top 55 Cruise-In. July 4 was a perfect day for the annual event. We had 105 registered cars, trucks and motorcycles. The firemen served 770 fish and tenderloin dinners.

“I would like to thank the following sponsors: Cass County Lincoln Mercury and Ford, Carol Woolever and family, Country Design, Walton Elevator, Deano’s Pizza, Leffert Stone, the Walton Freeze, Walton’s Little Mountain, Weaver Funeral Home, Galveston Liquor Store, Johnson Insurance, Moss Well Drilling, Bill and Brenda Johnson, McIntire Farms of Knox, Osborn Auto and Trim of Logansport, Kokomo Auto Supply, The Gallery Home Furnishings, Fike’s Tinker Tops, Troxel John Deere of Wabash, Hagerty Antique & Classic Insurance of Michigan, Gateway Classic Auto Sales of Illinois, and Richard’s Mobile DJ Service for providing the sound system for the parade and cruise-in. I just hope that I didn’t miss any of my sponsors. If I did, I’m so sorry.

“This could not go on without the sponsors and all the volunteers who do the parade, the fireworks, the vendors, the walk, cruise-in and the fish fry. All these people work very hard every year to bring this event to the community.

“Hope to see everyone next year.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll