Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 15, 2013

ED VASICEK: Syria and the war on terror

Iraq war opponent proposes military strike against Syria.

By the time you read this, America will have marked the 12th anniversary of Sept. 11, 2001. We were warned early on that the “war on terror” would last decades; this appears to be the case. With President Obama proposing strikes against Syria, Congress opposed, and the Syrian leader offering to turn over supervision of illegal weapons to the U.N. (I am skeptical), it seems we are repeating a pattern we’ve seen before.

When I peruse articles I wrote during that era, I remember saying, even if Saddam’s Iraq did not conceal weapons of mass destruction (and I believed it did), America was justified in attacking. Iraq had violated the terms of surrender that ended the Gulf War, Saddam had tried to have George H.W. Bush assassinated, he threatened terrorist acts against the U.S., and Saddam had massacred thousands of his own people. Someone needed to step in and end his reign of terror.

According to the Syrian Sun, “Saddam Hussein launched a genocidal bloodbath against the Kurdish people in Halabja in 1988, which he used chemical weapons and killed between 3,200 and 5,000 people, and injured around 7,000 to 10,000 more. The majority of them were civilians; besides the instantly killed, thousands more died of complications, diseases, and birth defects in the years after the massacre.”

Stories of Saddam’s cruelty are well-know. President Assad of Syria belongs to the same political party as did Saddam and is following suit. His current use of chemical weapons to kill innocent civilians has been making the headlines.

When George W. Bush led the war on terror into Iraq, he did so for a variety of reasons. First and foremost was his concern for the safety of our homeland. In the shadow of 9/11, it seemed reasonable to destroy the terrorist training centers in Afghanistan and to then take down Saddam Hussein. What we thought were reliable intelligence sources proved unreliable. Indigenous contacts, bitter because of Saddam’s massacres, convinced our leaders (and leaders from other nations) that the dictator harbored weapons of mass destruction — and that he was planning to attack the United States.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll