Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 15, 2013

ED VASICEK: Syria and the war on terror

Iraq war opponent proposes military strike against Syria.

By the time you read this, America will have marked the 12th anniversary of Sept. 11, 2001. We were warned early on that the “war on terror” would last decades; this appears to be the case. With President Obama proposing strikes against Syria, Congress opposed, and the Syrian leader offering to turn over supervision of illegal weapons to the U.N. (I am skeptical), it seems we are repeating a pattern we’ve seen before.

When I peruse articles I wrote during that era, I remember saying, even if Saddam’s Iraq did not conceal weapons of mass destruction (and I believed it did), America was justified in attacking. Iraq had violated the terms of surrender that ended the Gulf War, Saddam had tried to have George H.W. Bush assassinated, he threatened terrorist acts against the U.S., and Saddam had massacred thousands of his own people. Someone needed to step in and end his reign of terror.

According to the Syrian Sun, “Saddam Hussein launched a genocidal bloodbath against the Kurdish people in Halabja in 1988, which he used chemical weapons and killed between 3,200 and 5,000 people, and injured around 7,000 to 10,000 more. The majority of them were civilians; besides the instantly killed, thousands more died of complications, diseases, and birth defects in the years after the massacre.”

Stories of Saddam’s cruelty are well-know. President Assad of Syria belongs to the same political party as did Saddam and is following suit. His current use of chemical weapons to kill innocent civilians has been making the headlines.

When George W. Bush led the war on terror into Iraq, he did so for a variety of reasons. First and foremost was his concern for the safety of our homeland. In the shadow of 9/11, it seemed reasonable to destroy the terrorist training centers in Afghanistan and to then take down Saddam Hussein. What we thought were reliable intelligence sources proved unreliable. Indigenous contacts, bitter because of Saddam’s massacres, convinced our leaders (and leaders from other nations) that the dictator harbored weapons of mass destruction — and that he was planning to attack the United States.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll