Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 19, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Aug. 19, 2013

A little story about wind turbine issue

I have spent 84 years above the grass and hope I have gained knowledge with each year. Like my mother used to say, “Live and Learn.” We all have learned from our experiences. I know some people really wanted one or more turbines and at $12,000 per turbine that is $360,000 for the 30 year life of the turbine.

I’d like to tell you what is going to happen in the next 30 years, in my opinion, with a little story.

In the summer of 1941, my father bought a new 1942 Plymouth for $679. After WWII In 1946, he paid $1,000 for the first new Plymouth the dealership received in our hometown. In 1952, when I came home from Korea, I bought a new 1952 Chevrolet for $1,880 without sales tax. Last year I bought a new Ford truck and it is nice but it is far from loaded and it was $35,679.69 plus sales tax. You’re getting the picture.

The first few years will be fine for turbine leaseholders. However, the value of the $12,000 will depreciate in value and federal, state, and county taxes will continue to go up and the appraised value of your land may go up due to the turbines. The turbine company has depreciated the turbines and they will sell them to another company, who will again depreciate and sell them to a third company. The third company will depreciate them and the 30 years are over and the tall 492-foot turbines are obsolete if not before.

When a generation or two have past, the youngest son, grandson, or great grandson will be operating the farm. The $12,000 will buy $2,000 or so of merchandise in current year prices. The grandson can make more money farming that acre than he made from the turbine when and if he was getting paid. The current turbine company will tell the grandson they didn’t agree to tear the turbine down or they will just go bankrupt and leave the country.

The grandson will say why did my grandparents put up the turbine? It is going to cost me many times more than the $12,000 to tear one down. Maybe the government will do it with our tax money. How many times has the government done this sort of thing? Look at Continental Steel in Kokomo and other vacant factories in Muncie, New Castle, and Anderson.

Glenn Sheets, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll