Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 19, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Aug. 19, 2013

A little story about wind turbine issue

I have spent 84 years above the grass and hope I have gained knowledge with each year. Like my mother used to say, “Live and Learn.” We all have learned from our experiences. I know some people really wanted one or more turbines and at $12,000 per turbine that is $360,000 for the 30 year life of the turbine.

I’d like to tell you what is going to happen in the next 30 years, in my opinion, with a little story.

In the summer of 1941, my father bought a new 1942 Plymouth for $679. After WWII In 1946, he paid $1,000 for the first new Plymouth the dealership received in our hometown. In 1952, when I came home from Korea, I bought a new 1952 Chevrolet for $1,880 without sales tax. Last year I bought a new Ford truck and it is nice but it is far from loaded and it was $35,679.69 plus sales tax. You’re getting the picture.

The first few years will be fine for turbine leaseholders. However, the value of the $12,000 will depreciate in value and federal, state, and county taxes will continue to go up and the appraised value of your land may go up due to the turbines. The turbine company has depreciated the turbines and they will sell them to another company, who will again depreciate and sell them to a third company. The third company will depreciate them and the 30 years are over and the tall 492-foot turbines are obsolete if not before.

When a generation or two have past, the youngest son, grandson, or great grandson will be operating the farm. The $12,000 will buy $2,000 or so of merchandise in current year prices. The grandson can make more money farming that acre than he made from the turbine when and if he was getting paid. The current turbine company will tell the grandson they didn’t agree to tear the turbine down or they will just go bankrupt and leave the country.

The grandson will say why did my grandparents put up the turbine? It is going to cost me many times more than the $12,000 to tear one down. Maybe the government will do it with our tax money. How many times has the government done this sort of thing? Look at Continental Steel in Kokomo and other vacant factories in Muncie, New Castle, and Anderson.

Glenn Sheets, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll