Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 19, 2013

Letter to the Editor: Aug. 19, 2013

A little story about wind turbine issue

I have spent 84 years above the grass and hope I have gained knowledge with each year. Like my mother used to say, “Live and Learn.” We all have learned from our experiences. I know some people really wanted one or more turbines and at $12,000 per turbine that is $360,000 for the 30 year life of the turbine.

I’d like to tell you what is going to happen in the next 30 years, in my opinion, with a little story.

In the summer of 1941, my father bought a new 1942 Plymouth for $679. After WWII In 1946, he paid $1,000 for the first new Plymouth the dealership received in our hometown. In 1952, when I came home from Korea, I bought a new 1952 Chevrolet for $1,880 without sales tax. Last year I bought a new Ford truck and it is nice but it is far from loaded and it was $35,679.69 plus sales tax. You’re getting the picture.

The first few years will be fine for turbine leaseholders. However, the value of the $12,000 will depreciate in value and federal, state, and county taxes will continue to go up and the appraised value of your land may go up due to the turbines. The turbine company has depreciated the turbines and they will sell them to another company, who will again depreciate and sell them to a third company. The third company will depreciate them and the 30 years are over and the tall 492-foot turbines are obsolete if not before.

When a generation or two have past, the youngest son, grandson, or great grandson will be operating the farm. The $12,000 will buy $2,000 or so of merchandise in current year prices. The grandson can make more money farming that acre than he made from the turbine when and if he was getting paid. The current turbine company will tell the grandson they didn’t agree to tear the turbine down or they will just go bankrupt and leave the country.

The grandson will say why did my grandparents put up the turbine? It is going to cost me many times more than the $12,000 to tear one down. Maybe the government will do it with our tax money. How many times has the government done this sort of thing? Look at Continental Steel in Kokomo and other vacant factories in Muncie, New Castle, and Anderson.

Glenn Sheets, Sharpsville

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll