Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 1, 2013

House of Burgess: Wait, how did you get back in?

Philandering politicians Weiner, Sanford return to the political stage.

— Recently, two politicians I never thought would be heard from again have resurfaced. Both have taken advantage of the inability of incumbents to seek re-election in their respective districts. And they both provide interesting case studies in life after political death.

In New York City, Mayor Michael Bloomberg has been termed out of office and is ineligible to seek re-election for a fourth term in November. This vacuum has left a wide chasm waiting to be filled by any number of Big Apple hopefuls. But one name had me scratching my head: that of disgraced former Rep. Anthony Weiner. In May 2011, while he was still representing New York’s 9th Congressional District, Weiner sent a picture of his, uh, you know, to a follower of his Twitter account. The photo was quickly removed, and Weiner quickly maintained his account had been hacked. Then, a few days later, he relented. At a press conference he revealed he had, in fact, “exchanged messages and photos of an explicit nature with about six women over the last three years.”

Now Weiner has returned to the political arena. And he wants forgiveness.

“I do want to have that conversation with people whom I let down and with people who put their faith in me and who wanted to support me,” Weiner was quoted as saying in an April 14 New York Times Magazine profile. “I think to some degree I do want to say to them, ‘Give me another chance.’”

But it gets stranger. In South Carolina’s 1st Congressional District, two major party candidates are vying for Republican Rep. Tim Scott’s former seat, which has been vacant since Jan. 2 when he was appointed to the U.S. Senate. And who are these two candidates up for a vote Tuesday? Why it’s none other than former Gov. Mark “Appalachian Trail” Sanford vs. Elizabeth Colbert Busch, sister of comedian Stephen Colbert. [Editor’s note: And you want to know who has been one of Weiner’s closest friends for almost 25 years? Jon Stewart. Life is just too weird sometimes.] In June 2009, then Gov. Sanford was missing for nearly a week. Before he disappeared he told his staff he was hiking the 2,200-mile Appalachian National Scenic Trail. If he meant he was in South America with his Argentinian mistress, María Belén Chapur, then he was telling the truth.

I am generally disgusted by marital treachery, but I’m not usually morally outraged by politicians who cheat. Let’s be realistic. I mean, look at what it takes to get elected; not a lot of moral loyalty at play. It’s the nature of the position, especially today. And if we started listing unfaithful politicians, we’d be here all week. What I’m fascinated by is why some people get to stay in public service and why some are rejected forever by the hoi polloi. I posed this question to my own wife, Ash, and she had an interesting take on the subject.

“A married male politician’s road to recovery from a sex scandal depends on his wife being forgiving or forgettable,” she said. “If she is high profile, her standing by and forgiving her man set the precedent. If she divorces him, it also sets the precedent.”

Newt Gingrich’s crimes against the institution of marriage are pretty loathsome when you sit down and spell them out, but I couldn’t for the life of me name any of his wives. Hillary Clinton is far from forgettable, but her public forgiveness of her husband’s habitual disloyalty set the tone. Weiner’s spouse is Huma Abedin, a longtime personal aide to Hillary. The lessons of her boss’ past were obviously not lost on her as she appeared on the front of the previously referenced issue of the New York Times Magazine along with her husband.

Sanford’s situation is exactly the opposite. But by Ash’s standard he has the opportunity to re-emerge as well. After the story initially broke, Jenny Sanford moved out of the governor’s mansion and filed for divorce. With all apologies to the former first lady of the Palmetto State, I really can’t remember what she looks like.

“Just as [voters] easily forget [the wife], they easily forget their husband’s bad behavior,” said Ash. “She does not have that kind of standard bearing over how her husband will be treated. People can easily forget her as they barely noticed her in the first place. So, her anger, bitterness and rejection of her husband does not sink his career.”

Take note, politicians, my wife speaks the truth. Or, you could just not cheat. That’s always an option.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at twitter.com/robaburg.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll