Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

July 18, 2012

Editorial - July 18, 2012: Get involved with ‘Reads’

The issue: ‘Saving CeeCee Honeycutt,’ this year’s Howard County Reads selection.

Our view: Join one of the book discussions in person or online, or form your own among friends and co-workers.

 

After a long nomination period and months more of book discussions, library officials announced Monday the selected work for this year’s Howard County Reads program.

The Kokomo-Howard County Public Library and Greentown Public Library are encouraging county residents to check out a copy of “Saving CeeCee Honeycutt,” Beth Hoffman’s novel about a 12-year-old girl who loses her mother but finds other female caregivers after she’s whisked from Ohio to Savannah by a great-aunt.

And this year, just like last year, residents can meet the author.

Howard County Reads was introduced in 2004. Its goal: to cultivate a love of reading and to promote a sense of community.

Planners, once again, have taken community-building another step farther.

Besides book discussions slated for 10 a.m. Sept. 26 at the Kokomo Main Library and 6:30 p.m. Oct. 25 at the South Branch, an online read-along and book discussion will run Monday through Friday, from Oct. 1 to Oct. 19.

There’ll also be a letter-writing contest. Readers are asked to “write a letter to your teenage self and explain how the hurts you experienced years ago strengthened you.”

But just like last year, the highlight will be the author’s visit. Hoffman will talk about her book, answer questions and sign copies at 7 p.m. Oct. 19 at IU Kokomo’s Havens Auditorium.

Get involved in this community activity; it’s the most important part of Howard County Reads. You can join one of the program’s book discussions in person or online, or form your own among friends and co-workers. Howard County Reads even will provide your group a discussion leader.

If you want to host a book discussion, let organizers know by calling 765-454-4710 or emailing read@howardcountyreads.org. Call Trisha Shively at 765-457-3242 or Margi Bontrager at 765-628-3534 if you have questions.

And regularly check howardcountyreads.org for more events. A trip to Savannah, Ga., is planned for Sept. 13-16.

This looks to be the best year yet for Howard County Reads.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll