Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 20, 2013

Don't be a statistic

If you hit the highway for a getaway or get-together in the next couple of weeks, you’ll have company.

Troopers assigned to the Indiana State Police Peru Post will increase patrols in Cass, Fulton, Grant, Miami, Howard, Tipton and Wabash counties in an effort to remove drunken motorists from area roads.

Throughout all of 2011, 140 people were killed on Hoosier highways involving an impaired driver, the Indiana State Police report. Nationally, 32,367 people were killed in motor vehicle accidents in 2011, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration — and 9,878 were killed in crashes involving a drunken motorist.

That means every 53 minutes, someone in America died in a crash involving an impaired driver, the NHTSA says.

There were 91 accidents in Howard County involving an intoxicated motorist in 2010, but fortunately no fatalities.

Since 2006, however, about 1 in every 5 fatal crashes on Indiana roads involved an impaired driver.

Troopers remind motorists to “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.”

Don’t get behind the wheel if you’ve consumed alcohol. Call a taxi, a family member or friend who’s sober for a ride home.

If you’re hosting a party, always offer non-alcoholic drinks. Make sure all guests leave with a sober driver, or ask them to spend the night.

And before heading out on the road, remember to ensure your tires are properly inflated, and that your lights operate correctly. Also allow for extra time to your destination, and keep a little extra space between you and the vehicle in front of you.

And if you notice someone driving erratically, state troopers ask that you contact police. Be prepared to give a description of the vehicle, its location and direction of travel.

Don’t be a statistic. Drive safely this week and next.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll