Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 23, 2013

Free enterprise igniting stronger Latino community

Their leaders have a responsibility to mentor the young.

Each September, Hispanic Heritage Month is an opportunity to celebrate “Latino culture,” an all-encompassing term that by no means does justice to the diversity of the population. It also represents a chance to explore the transformations underway at both the community and state levels, and as is often the case there can be little doubt that such transformation is being ignited by the growth in size and influence of the state’s Latino business leadership. Even a cursory look at data and trending leaves little doubt that as the population grows and matures, expanded entrepreneurism and professional development will continue to form the foundation for long-term community success.

This perpetual strengthening of Indiana’s Latino business community has mirrored substantially the population’s decade-long metamorphosis into our state’s, and indeed the nation’s, fastest-growing demographic. As one might expect, the most significant sprouting of businesses founded, overseen and managed by Latino Hoosiers has been observed in Marion and Lake counties, two of our state’s larger population centers and long the destinations for Hispanics migrating to Indiana. Still, we are now home to approximately 8,000 Latino-owned businesses, and one clear signal of the community’s ascension has been the prevalence of such small- and medium-sized firms in Anderson, Plymouth, French Lick and other areas historically well beyond the perimeter of Latino growth circles.

These leaders have more often than not provided much-needed direction and support to local community organizations that are caring for our most vulnerable. Latino business leaders have in countless instances understood their role in facilitating opportunity for the next generation of workers and entrepreneurs, of reinvesting in their home communities, and of organic transformation through advocacy and example one neighborhood at a time. As with other groups throughout our nation’s history, the rise in influence of the professional class is paying dividends not only for those less fortunate but for young professionals and students just now making their way into the workplace. The social gains are exponential, and we’re fortunate that so many Latino business folks have embraced their opportunity to be transformational.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll