Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 28, 2013

House of Burgess: A good woman without a gun

Bookkeeper disarms would-be shooter with love

(Continued)

Her bedside manner was astounding. After she negotiated the terms of the surrender, she continued to reassure the gunman.

“We’re not going to hate you, baby,” she said. “It’s a good thing that you’re giving up, so we’re not going to hate you.”

Even the dispatcher couldn’t hide her admiration.

“Ma’am, you’re doing a great job,” she said.

Tuff continued to build rapport.

“It’s going to be all right, sweetie,” Tuff said to the gunman. “I just want you to know that I love you, though. I’m proud of you. That’s a good thing that you’re just giving up, and don’t worry about it. We all go through something in life. … No, you don’t want that. You’re going to be OK. I thought the same thing. You know, I tried to commit suicide last year when my husband left me, but look at me now: I’m still working and everything is OK.”

After a few more tense moments of negotiation and brutal silence, a cacophony of deep-throated police voices barked orders in the background as the danger subsided.

“Let me tell you something, baby,” said Tuff to the dispatcher over the noise. “I ain’t never been so scared in all the days of my life.”

When WSB-TV’s Jovita Moore called Tuff a hero during an interview the next day, she refused the title. “I give it all to God,” said Tuff. “I’m not the hero. I was terrified.”

What’s important is Hill is now jailed and charged with aggravated assault on a police officer, making terroristic threats and possession of a firearm by a convicted felon.

After I listened to the emergency recording, I couldn’t help but remember what unfolded in the days after another similar story. A week after December’s Sandy Hook Elementary School massacre, Wayne LaPierre, executive vice president of the National Rifle Association, broke the group’s silence. He called for armed educators and proclaimed: “The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun.”

Hey, Wayne. Care to add a “sometimes” to the start of the sentence? Maybe it’s not the only thing. Cool it with the absolutes. A little bit of compassion can do the trick, too.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at twitter.com/robaburg.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll