Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 28, 2013

Aug. 28, 2013: Letters to the editor

Different waysto make goals

A recently published political cartoon stated that, “school reform will continue with Glenda Ritz as the new driver.” That cartoon inspired me to write this letter to the citizens of Indiana. I am the new driver. Let me tell you about how, together, we will not reform but transform our education system for Indiana’s future economic prosperity.

I have never met an educator, parent or taxpayer who does not know the importance of education in our society. As a teacher of 34 years, I never aspired to be the superintendent of public instruction, but I felt compelled to run for the position not to turn back the clock on reform but to drive the bus toward real transformation.

The vision of my administration is, “Imagining the possibilities. Making them happen.” The Department of Education’s mission is “to build an education system of equity and high quality focused on student-centered accountability.”

How? Together.

We are embarking on a community approach to educating our children. No matter where a child lives in Indiana, they should enter schools that have equity in resources and the expectation they will receive a high-quality education. I have structured the Department of Education to create the division of Outreach for School Improvement. The dedicated educators serving as outreach coordinators in the nine different regions in Indiana are hired from within the regions they serve and will be responsible for facilitating resources to schools based on school improvement needs. The needs of schools will drive the department’s legislative agenda, focus our grant-writing efforts, and determine community partnerships and supports.

What about accountability? It has to be student-centered.

Accountability is a joint endeavor — students must receive the supports needed from caring adults, in and outside our school walls.

As we move toward a new vision, I am overwhelmed with the support of the 1.3 million voters who share the vision. The voters of Indiana hired me to do what is right for their children, and every day I take my service just as seriously as I did in the classroom. The most frustrating part of my job is the political pressure (state and national — by both parties) to oppose transformation efforts of our education system because they may reject the notion that there are different and better ways to achieve the same goals. So, in my words, I will offer my thoughts in upcoming letters to the editor on current educational debate topics ... not from a politician’s perspective, but from an educator’s perspective.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll