Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 28, 2013

Aug. 28, 2013: Letters to the editor

Different waysto make goals

A recently published political cartoon stated that, “school reform will continue with Glenda Ritz as the new driver.” That cartoon inspired me to write this letter to the citizens of Indiana. I am the new driver. Let me tell you about how, together, we will not reform but transform our education system for Indiana’s future economic prosperity.

I have never met an educator, parent or taxpayer who does not know the importance of education in our society. As a teacher of 34 years, I never aspired to be the superintendent of public instruction, but I felt compelled to run for the position not to turn back the clock on reform but to drive the bus toward real transformation.

The vision of my administration is, “Imagining the possibilities. Making them happen.” The Department of Education’s mission is “to build an education system of equity and high quality focused on student-centered accountability.”

How? Together.

We are embarking on a community approach to educating our children. No matter where a child lives in Indiana, they should enter schools that have equity in resources and the expectation they will receive a high-quality education. I have structured the Department of Education to create the division of Outreach for School Improvement. The dedicated educators serving as outreach coordinators in the nine different regions in Indiana are hired from within the regions they serve and will be responsible for facilitating resources to schools based on school improvement needs. The needs of schools will drive the department’s legislative agenda, focus our grant-writing efforts, and determine community partnerships and supports.

What about accountability? It has to be student-centered.

Accountability is a joint endeavor — students must receive the supports needed from caring adults, in and outside our school walls.

As we move toward a new vision, I am overwhelmed with the support of the 1.3 million voters who share the vision. The voters of Indiana hired me to do what is right for their children, and every day I take my service just as seriously as I did in the classroom. The most frustrating part of my job is the political pressure (state and national — by both parties) to oppose transformation efforts of our education system because they may reject the notion that there are different and better ways to achieve the same goals. So, in my words, I will offer my thoughts in upcoming letters to the editor on current educational debate topics ... not from a politician’s perspective, but from an educator’s perspective.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Keep eyeout for kids With most local schools welcoming students in a couple of weeks — and Kokomo schools beginning class Aug. 5 (yes, a week from this coming Tuesday) — it’s important for motorists to think about safe driving as children travel to and from school.Law en

    July 23, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Let's hope 7th Circuit sides with couples Let’s hope 7th Circuit sides with couplesIf you blinked over the past month, you probably missed some news about marriage equality in Indiana.First, a federal court ruled that the state’s ban on marriage for same-sex couples was unconstitutional, whi

    July 23, 2014

  • CECIL BOHANON: Spend down surplus? Been there, done that Back in 1998, the state of Indiana had more than $1.3 billion in surplus funds in its general account. This was about 57 days of state spending. The state had total surplus funds of more than $2 billion that was over 24 percent of its annual operatin

    July 23, 2014

  • House of Burgess: Bush? Clinton? Next, please Here comes a sentence I don’t usually find myself typing: I agree with Barbara Bush on something.Jan. 20, C-SPAN aired her installment in the series “First Ladies: Influence and Image,” which was filmed at Bush’s Houston home.“Do you think there is r

    July 23, 2014

  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll