Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

August 28, 2013

Aug. 28, 2013: Letters to the editor

Different waysto make goals

A recently published political cartoon stated that, “school reform will continue with Glenda Ritz as the new driver.” That cartoon inspired me to write this letter to the citizens of Indiana. I am the new driver. Let me tell you about how, together, we will not reform but transform our education system for Indiana’s future economic prosperity.

I have never met an educator, parent or taxpayer who does not know the importance of education in our society. As a teacher of 34 years, I never aspired to be the superintendent of public instruction, but I felt compelled to run for the position not to turn back the clock on reform but to drive the bus toward real transformation.

The vision of my administration is, “Imagining the possibilities. Making them happen.” The Department of Education’s mission is “to build an education system of equity and high quality focused on student-centered accountability.”

How? Together.

We are embarking on a community approach to educating our children. No matter where a child lives in Indiana, they should enter schools that have equity in resources and the expectation they will receive a high-quality education. I have structured the Department of Education to create the division of Outreach for School Improvement. The dedicated educators serving as outreach coordinators in the nine different regions in Indiana are hired from within the regions they serve and will be responsible for facilitating resources to schools based on school improvement needs. The needs of schools will drive the department’s legislative agenda, focus our grant-writing efforts, and determine community partnerships and supports.

What about accountability? It has to be student-centered.

Accountability is a joint endeavor — students must receive the supports needed from caring adults, in and outside our school walls.

As we move toward a new vision, I am overwhelmed with the support of the 1.3 million voters who share the vision. The voters of Indiana hired me to do what is right for their children, and every day I take my service just as seriously as I did in the classroom. The most frustrating part of my job is the political pressure (state and national — by both parties) to oppose transformation efforts of our education system because they may reject the notion that there are different and better ways to achieve the same goals. So, in my words, I will offer my thoughts in upcoming letters to the editor on current educational debate topics ... not from a politician’s perspective, but from an educator’s perspective.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll