Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

August 28, 2013

Aug. 28, 2013: Letters to the editor

Different waysto make goals

A recently published political cartoon stated that, “school reform will continue with Glenda Ritz as the new driver.” That cartoon inspired me to write this letter to the citizens of Indiana. I am the new driver. Let me tell you about how, together, we will not reform but transform our education system for Indiana’s future economic prosperity.

I have never met an educator, parent or taxpayer who does not know the importance of education in our society. As a teacher of 34 years, I never aspired to be the superintendent of public instruction, but I felt compelled to run for the position not to turn back the clock on reform but to drive the bus toward real transformation.

The vision of my administration is, “Imagining the possibilities. Making them happen.” The Department of Education’s mission is “to build an education system of equity and high quality focused on student-centered accountability.”

How? Together.

We are embarking on a community approach to educating our children. No matter where a child lives in Indiana, they should enter schools that have equity in resources and the expectation they will receive a high-quality education. I have structured the Department of Education to create the division of Outreach for School Improvement. The dedicated educators serving as outreach coordinators in the nine different regions in Indiana are hired from within the regions they serve and will be responsible for facilitating resources to schools based on school improvement needs. The needs of schools will drive the department’s legislative agenda, focus our grant-writing efforts, and determine community partnerships and supports.

What about accountability? It has to be student-centered.

Accountability is a joint endeavor — students must receive the supports needed from caring adults, in and outside our school walls.

As we move toward a new vision, I am overwhelmed with the support of the 1.3 million voters who share the vision. The voters of Indiana hired me to do what is right for their children, and every day I take my service just as seriously as I did in the classroom. The most frustrating part of my job is the political pressure (state and national — by both parties) to oppose transformation efforts of our education system because they may reject the notion that there are different and better ways to achieve the same goals. So, in my words, I will offer my thoughts in upcoming letters to the editor on current educational debate topics ... not from a politician’s perspective, but from an educator’s perspective.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll