Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 8, 2013

ED VASICEK: American corn: Grain, fruit and carbohydrate

Classification depends a bit upon its usage

We are near-ing the time of year when we celebrate the harvest. Many of us will make a trek to the orchard to stock up on apples. Others of us are enjoying the final ears of corn, while yet others are trying to give away tomatoes, zucchini and peppers.

I am grateful for those tomatoes, zucchini and sweet peppers. Between various soil wilts, powdery mildew and ravenous insects, my garden produced next to nothing. Next year, it is going to be resistant varieties only!

My crop failure reminded me to appreciate America’s farmers. If we depended upon our own ability to garden, folks like me would be an endangered species!

I probably did not tend my garden well because this summer was a busy one for us. We were so busy, at times we ate TV dinners. This is something Vasiceks do not do; I have only had a handful of them over the last 35 years or so. My, how they have shrunk! I also was disappointed by their lack of balance. Some of them, for example, featured potatoes for a carb and corn for a vegetable. Although corn is technically a fruit, it is nutritionally considered a starchy vegetable, like potatoes. I was double-carbed.

Don’t get me wrong; I love corn. Both our son and daughter were in Kokomo this summer, and they longed for Indiana corn; we made many trips to the corn stand.

The word “corn” was originally an old English term meaning “grain” or “a head of grain.” Common corns were wheat, barley and rice. Maize is one particular “corn,” and Americans began interchanging these terms until finally “maize” became “corn,” and other grains were no longer “corn.” The rest of the world calls corn “maize.”

Why did I say corn is a fruit? The confusion between fruit, vegetables and grain is perennial. The reason for this is simple: The world of science and the world of culinary nutrition are two distinct worlds. Thus corn is nutritionally a starchy vegetable and should be considered a carbohydrate, but scientifically, it is a fruit. To make matters more complex, if the kernels are dried, corn becomes a grain (still a carbohydrate). Immature baby corn is consumed cob and all, and is considered a high-fiber vegetable.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll