Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 11, 2013

House of Burgess: Matthew Cordle 'killed a man'

Ohioan's YouTube confession goes viral.

(Continued)

“By releasing this video I know exactly what it means: I’m handing the prosecution everything they need to put me away for a very long time. I’m willing to take that sentence for just one reason — and that reason is so I can pass this message on to you: I beg you … please don’t drink and drive.”

On the surface, at least, the messages conveyed are admirable: One, it’s good to tell the truth, even if it doesn’t happen right away. Two, it’s bad to drink and drive. Always. In the wake of the video’s release, though, members of Canzani’s family have had mixed reactions.

“I applaud Matt for stepping up to the plate,” Cheryl Olcott, who was married to Canzani for a decade, told Daniel Bates of The Daily Mail on Thursday. “He is an honest man who has spoken the truth.” Other relatives of the deceased 61-year-old Navy veteran have been less forgiving.

Angela Canzani, Vincent’s daughter, told Simon Moya-Smith of NBC News on Friday there was no question of Cordle’s guilt even before the video. “It’s making it look like he’s confessing to a crime,” she said. “Like he’s some hero or something.”

As expected, a Franklin County, Ohio grand jury indicted Cordle on one count of aggravated vehicular homicide Monday.

“[The video] was not made to obtain a more lenient sentence,” Cordle’s attorney, George Stark Breitmayer III, told ABC News Monday. “He did it for the sole purpose of raising awareness of drunk driving. I think that point has been made. He’s been contacted by addicts since its release, who are showing support to him.”

Cordle possesses no deficit in the chutzpah department, I’ll give him that. However, I share Angela Canzani’s skepticism. The video’s lighting, editing and soundtrack are all very striking. It’s technically well done; too well done, almost. One has to assume at least part of the motivation behind the video’s manufacture had to do with a hope for clemency.

I want to think the best of his intentions. But if he really wanted to prove his sincerity, he should have confessed privately and released this video after being sentenced. Given the timing, I find it self-serving.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at twitter.com/robaburg.

 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll