Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

September 12, 2013

Sept. 12, 2013: Letters to the editor

State superintendent shown only contempt

I have received information concerning the latest State Board of Education meeting, as well as the governor’s recent announcement, that leaves me greatly disappointed and perplexed.

I am vehemently opposed to the continued and consistent ongoing disregard and overt contempt displayed by the State Board of Education toward our duly elected superintendent of public instruction, Ms. Glenda Ritz. Additionally, I could not be more opposed to what appears to be the Pence administration’s effort to purposefully marginalize the superintendent by dishonoring and disregarding the voice of Hoosier voters.

Voters elected Superintendent Ritz, as they obviously disagreed with Superintendent Bennett (he had the huge war chest, a well-oiled political machine, as well as all the name recognition both statewide and nationally) and his “my way or the highway” philosophy. Now Gov. Pence has appointed a committee as well as a chairman to, in essence, marginalize Superintendent Ritz and dishonor the voice of the voter and continue exactly that which was so soundly defeated in the election.

Is Indiana intending to follow the federal example of having two governments; one duly elected or appointed and approved by Congress and another hand-picked by the president? This creation of a shadow government is just as wrong here as it is in Washington. Considering the governor appears to be creating this structure to bypass working within a system created by the Indiana Constitution and supported by voters is particularly repugnant and should be stopped.

Following the notes from the previous three meetings of the State Board of Education, apparently the Pence administration is less than willing to work within guidelines established by the voters. The governor seems to be doing everything possible to continue with the Bennett doctrine (he has publicly endorsed an A-F system that has proven unreliable when even the favored plum schools get a C) and eliminate Superintendent Ritz from exercising any effectiveness (except that of figurehead) by shoving her to the side.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll