Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

July 11, 2013

July 11, 2013: Letters to the editor

Courthouse hazards should be remedied

This letter is being written to inform the people of Tipton County of a safety concern that seems to be too small of an issue for the courthouse to take seriously.

Let me start by saying that back in the early March time frame, it was decided to cut down trees on the courthouse lawn. Sounds simple enough, huh? Well, some of the trees that were cut were cut in such a manner as to leave as much as just short of a foot of trunk sticking up. The county didn’t have them cut to the ground or have them flagged, or spray painted, or marked in a manner as to protect the public of the trip hazards.

So, approximately four months later, it happened: A citizen tripped over one of the stumps, broke bones in her foot and has filed a claim against the county for the medical bills. I don’t know the full extent of the injuries and certainly wouldn’t guess as to the cost this is going to be to the county.

But, folks, this type of thing should never have occurred, as public safety must be the first and overriding priority, period.

Why would I take the time to write a letter to the paper to inform people? Because two weeks after the incident, not one of our leaders has corrected this issue, and it leaves us as taxpaying citizens on the hook for legal liability. I even attended the BOC meeting on July 1 to bring this to the attention of our leaders. I got no response as to why this issue had not been corrected.

I would think county employees could clean this up and stop any further accidents from occurring. Everyone should contact their leader of choice and ask why this has been going on for four months, and when it is going to get corrected.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll