Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

October 6, 2012

Cheers & Jeers: Oct. 6, 2012

Homecoming fit for a king

Clee R. Oliver, Indiana Patriot Guard assistant senior ride captain, sends this Cheer to the Kokomo and Howard County community for their support of Sgt. Bradley Atwell:

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County for their tremendous support and respect given to the family of Sgt. Bradley Wayne Atwell, USMC, who lost his life at Camp Bastion, Afghanistan, on Sept. 14, 2012.

“I and Ron Coleman, state captain with the Indiana Patriot Guard, were privileged to escort Sgt. Atwell from the flight line of Grissom AFRB to Chapel Hill Christian Church. Along the route were many, many individuals waving American flags; individuals with their hand over their hearts, and small children saluting as the hearse with Sgt. Atwell, vehicles with his wife, Danielle, and the rest of the family passed by.

“At many locations along U.S. 31, walls of people stood reducing the southbound two-lane highway to one lane as the escort proceeded. Undoubtedly, people who did not even know what was happening stopped their vehicles blocking the northbound lane to a stand-still to show honor and respect for the nearly 250 motorcycles, law enforcement, and Sgt. Atwell’s family.

“At Taylor High School, where Sgt. Atwell graduated, students stood, too, with American flags honoring Sgt. Atwell as well as children in front of St. Joan of Arc Church. Chrysler employees, shoppers at the malls, restaurant establishment employees and patrons came to the streets; and fire departments emptied their firehouses to stand at attention for this fallen hero.

“Kokomo and Howard County citizens, over the last 30-plus years as evident with the Vietnam veterans reunion, have shown we are a military-supporting community. The outpouring support from this community has not gone unnoticed. Capt. Markus Trouerbach with the USMC, responsible for the logistics of Sgt. Atwell’s services in Kokomo, said, ‘In my 20-plus years in the Marine Corps, I’ve attended and organized many memorials/funerals. Thanks to your efforts, this was, by far, my most memorable experience I’ve ever encountered. It’s because of patriots like yourselves that America is what it is today..

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll