Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 17, 2013

Another day in America

— Hours after two bombs detonated near the finish line of Monday’s Boston Marathon, a news helicopter filmed the scene for broadcast.

Paper littered Boylston Street. Blood smeared the sidewalk on its north side. Law enforcement officers in DayGlo, lemon-lime safety vests walked about. An American flag fluttered above it all, several yards to the west.

House Speaker John Boehner Monday ordered Capitol flags to be lowered to half-staff. Flags across the nation have been at half-staff far too frequently these past several months.

• On July 20, 2012, a man dressed in tactical gear set off tear gas grenades in a movie theater in Aurora, Colo., during a midnight screening of the film “The Dark Knight Rises.” Using several weapons, he shot into the audience, killing 12 and wounding 58. The sole suspect, James Eagan Holmes, was arrested minutes later.

• On Dec. 14, 2012, Adam Lanza, 20, shot 20 children and six adults at an elementary school in Newtown, Conn. The children were all 5 and 6 years old. President Obama called them babies. Lanza shot himself in the head as first responders arrived at the school.

• On Monday, two explosions took place about 10 seconds and 100 yards apart just before 3 p.m. in Boston. Three people were killed — one, an 8-year-old boy waiting with his mother and sister for his father to finish the marathon.

Roupen Bastajian, a Rhode Island state trooper who had just run the race, told The Associated Press: “I started running toward the blast. And there were people all over the floor. We started grabbing tourniquets and started tying legs. A lot of people amputated. ... At least 25 to 30 people have at least one leg missing, or an ankle missing, or two legs missing.”

The president was careful not to use the words “terror” or “terrorism” during a White House press conference Monday. “We still don’t know who did this or why,” he said. “Make no mistake: We will get to the bottom of this.”

Despite the president’s reluctance, Monday’s bombing was an act of terror. The explosions caused fear. They were intended to demoralize.

The Aurora theater shooting was an act of terror. The Newtown tragedy was an act of terror.

Next month, flags will be lowered to half-staff in observance of Peace Officers Memorial Day May 15.

Another day in America, when flags are flown at half-mast.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll