Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

November 17, 2012

Keep it safe next week

Lots of Hoosiers will head out of town to visit family and friends this coming holiday weekend. The AAA auto club forecasts 39.1 million people traveling by car next weekend – a 0.6 percent increase from last year.

AAA officials suggest the slight increase points to the ability of American families “to economize their budgets so they can gather around the holiday table to carve the turkey.” This will be the fourth straight year of growth since 2008, when Thanksgiving travel dropped 25 percent in the midst of the country’s economic downtown.

In an effort to make sure holiday travelers reach their destinations safely, police will be out in force on Indiana roadways this coming weekend.

The Kokomo Police Department and the Howard County Sheriff Department will be working with the Indiana State Police and other law enforcement agencies across the state in carrying out the Safe Family Travel enforcement blitz.

During the blitz, law enforcement officers will work thousands of overtime hours, day and night, to ensure motorists are traveling safely. They’ll be particularly on the lookout for drunken drivers and seat-belt violations.

The goal is not to ruin someone’s holiday with a traffic ticket. It’s to avoid having to make that dreaded call to another family about a tragedy on the roadways.

During the 2011 Thanksgiving holiday, 17 people lost their lives in Indiana traffic crashes. There were 476 alcohol-related collisions, resulting in five deaths. But there also were 415 crashes in which drivers and passengers weren’t buckled up. Those resulted in 12 fatalities.

By all means, get out and visit friends and family this coming weekend, but if your celebration involves alcohol, don’t get behind the wheel of a vehicle.

And whether you’re riding or driving, be sure to buckle up. Studies have consistently shown that wearing a seat belt increases the chances of surviving a crash by more than 50 percent.

Have a safe and happy Thanksgiving.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll