Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

December 31, 2012

Stay safe from cold

The Kokomo area has yet to see a repeat of the winter of 2010-11 (knock on wood). But bitter cold is expected to linger this week like wood smoke on a sweater, the National Weather Service says.

Wind chills near zero degrees or below are possible tonight and again near the weekend.

As you venture out this morning, layered lightweight clothing will keep you warmer than a single heavy coat. Gloves or mittens and a hat will help you to avoid losing body heat.

Wear waterproof, insulated boots to keep your feet warm and dry and to maintain your footing in ice and snow.

Here are some other tips from the American Red Cross:

• Prevent frozen pipes by opening cabinet doors to let warm air circulate. Let the cold water drip from the faucet to keep pipes from freezing.

• Keep the thermostat set to a consistent temperature.

• Don’t forget your pets. Bring them indoors if you can, but if you can’t, be sure they have adequate shelter and access to unfrozen water.

And though winter’s worst has yet to arrive, keep your car’s gas tank full for emergency use and to keep the fuel line from freezing.

Let someone know your destination, the route you expect to follow and when you expect to arrive so that if you slide off the road along the way, rescuers will know where to look.

No strong wind gusts are predicted, thankfully. But when they crop up in a forecast, the Red Cross has some advice to keep you safe until power returns:

• Do not use candles for lighting. Use flashlights only.

• If you are using a portable generator, do not connect it to your home’s electrical system. Instead, connect the equipment you want to power directly to the outlets on the generator.

• Leave one light turned on so you will know when your power returns.

• Turn off or disconnect appliances or electronics you were using when the power went out. Surges or spikes when the power comes back on can damage your equipment.

• Keep your refrigerator and freezer doors closed as much as possible. Use perishable foods in the refrigerator first. An unopened refrigerator will keep food cold for about four hours.

Stay warm and stay safe.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll