Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 5, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Jan. 5, 2013

Women come to another’s rescue

Marianna Lewellyn of Kokomo sends this Cheer to two women at Marsh:

“Cheers and a thank-you to the two ladies, Sandra and Karen, who came to my rescue at Marsh when I was fainting in the checkout line.

“They arranged to get me home and later brought my car and groceries. I pray you had a Merry Christmas and you’ll both have a prosperous new year.

“Thank you so much.”

 

Gregg Lucas ‘has heart of gold’

Sue Comerford of American Legion Unit 6 sends this Cheer for Gregg Lucas at Moore’s Pie Shop:

“Gregg Lucas and his staff have given hundreds of pies this past year to the American Legion Auxiliary Unit 6 to take to CAM (Coordinated Assistance Ministries), Family Service Association, Gilead House, Rescue Mission for Women and Children, and Howard Haven. We made a special delivery to CAM right before Thanksgiving to make sure it had dessert for dinner.

“These organizations are always so thankful when we show up with pies from Moore’s Pie Shop. I can’t thank Gregg and his staff enough for providing pies for the less fortunate. He has a heart of gold.”

 

Gifts tell recipients they are loved

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer:

“The Kokomo Rescue Mission exists to proclaim the Good News and demonstrate the compassion of Jesus Christ to the homeless, hungry and hurting. The Red Ribbon Christmas deliveries are a major part of demonstrating that compassion, especially to children, this time of year.

“It is no secret that Christmas time invokes a desire in children to receive a special gift. Not only because new toys are fun to play with, but because of the message a gift sends to a child. Gifts communicate an unspoken language of love that everyone can understand, even a small child. Without saying a word, a gift tells the recipient they are important, that they matter, but, most of all, that they are loved. In fact, love being expressed as a gift is what Christmas is really all about. God wanted to show us just how much he loves us, so he gave us the only gift we ever really need in Jesus Christ our Savior. The familiar verse of John 3:16 sums it up beautifully: ‘For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.’ God loved, and so he gave.

“Giving is exactly what all of you have done. You love, and so you give. Thanks so much to each and every one of you for sending an expression of love to so many men, women and children this year. Thank you for giving your time, your money and many other resources to communicate a message of hope and love. May God bless you for letting your light shine before others.

“The Kokomo Rescue Mission would like to extend a special thank-you to our friends involved with We Care for funding for Red Ribbon Christmas; to GMCH for providing warehouse space; to Syndicate Sales, Guyer the Mover and Roger Miller for providing trucks and drivers for out-of-town deliveries; Eikenberry Trucking for providing a refrigerated trailer; to KRM’s amazing Christmas volunteers who work year-round, and finally the countless volunteers who worked during the Christmas season to make it happen.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll