Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 5, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Jan. 5, 2013

Women come to another’s rescue

Marianna Lewellyn of Kokomo sends this Cheer to two women at Marsh:

“Cheers and a thank-you to the two ladies, Sandra and Karen, who came to my rescue at Marsh when I was fainting in the checkout line.

“They arranged to get me home and later brought my car and groceries. I pray you had a Merry Christmas and you’ll both have a prosperous new year.

“Thank you so much.”

 

Gregg Lucas ‘has heart of gold’

Sue Comerford of American Legion Unit 6 sends this Cheer for Gregg Lucas at Moore’s Pie Shop:

“Gregg Lucas and his staff have given hundreds of pies this past year to the American Legion Auxiliary Unit 6 to take to CAM (Coordinated Assistance Ministries), Family Service Association, Gilead House, Rescue Mission for Women and Children, and Howard Haven. We made a special delivery to CAM right before Thanksgiving to make sure it had dessert for dinner.

“These organizations are always so thankful when we show up with pies from Moore’s Pie Shop. I can’t thank Gregg and his staff enough for providing pies for the less fortunate. He has a heart of gold.”

 

Gifts tell recipients they are loved

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer:

“The Kokomo Rescue Mission exists to proclaim the Good News and demonstrate the compassion of Jesus Christ to the homeless, hungry and hurting. The Red Ribbon Christmas deliveries are a major part of demonstrating that compassion, especially to children, this time of year.

“It is no secret that Christmas time invokes a desire in children to receive a special gift. Not only because new toys are fun to play with, but because of the message a gift sends to a child. Gifts communicate an unspoken language of love that everyone can understand, even a small child. Without saying a word, a gift tells the recipient they are important, that they matter, but, most of all, that they are loved. In fact, love being expressed as a gift is what Christmas is really all about. God wanted to show us just how much he loves us, so he gave us the only gift we ever really need in Jesus Christ our Savior. The familiar verse of John 3:16 sums it up beautifully: ‘For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.’ God loved, and so he gave.

“Giving is exactly what all of you have done. You love, and so you give. Thanks so much to each and every one of you for sending an expression of love to so many men, women and children this year. Thank you for giving your time, your money and many other resources to communicate a message of hope and love. May God bless you for letting your light shine before others.

“The Kokomo Rescue Mission would like to extend a special thank-you to our friends involved with We Care for funding for Red Ribbon Christmas; to GMCH for providing warehouse space; to Syndicate Sales, Guyer the Mover and Roger Miller for providing trucks and drivers for out-of-town deliveries; Eikenberry Trucking for providing a refrigerated trailer; to KRM’s amazing Christmas volunteers who work year-round, and finally the countless volunteers who worked during the Christmas season to make it happen.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

  • Road must be made safer Eight months ago, the Indiana Department of Transportation opened the new U.S. 31 bypass east of Kokomo. Joining Mayor Greg Goodnight was Gov. Mike Pence. Even the Kokomo High School marching band performed at the ribbon-cutting ceremony. It was the

    July 24, 2014

  • SEN. JIM BUCK: New laws offer help for kids Families with children who have special needs often face difficulties finding the best care or treatment for their specific circumstance. During the 2014 legislative session, the Indiana General Assembly passed several initiatives to assist these fam

    July 24, 2014

  • LETTERS: Christians must stand with Israel 'As Christians we must stand with life' The present conflict in Israel is with Hamas, recognized even in Egypt as a terrorist organization. Recently Hamas formed a unity government with the Palestinian Authority in Gaza. They're now the government in

    July 24, 2014

  • BILL STANCZYKIEWICZ: Youth sports leagues are on troubling decline An important youth development activity is looking to end a recent losing streak. Participation in organized youth sports leagues for baseball, football, basketball and soccer declined by 4 percent between 2008-2012, according to a report in the Wall

    July 24, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Palestinians and Israeli Soldiers Clash Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kerry: No Deal Yet on 7-Day Gaza Truce Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll