Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 5, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: Jan. 5, 2013

Women come to another’s rescue

Marianna Lewellyn of Kokomo sends this Cheer to two women at Marsh:

“Cheers and a thank-you to the two ladies, Sandra and Karen, who came to my rescue at Marsh when I was fainting in the checkout line.

“They arranged to get me home and later brought my car and groceries. I pray you had a Merry Christmas and you’ll both have a prosperous new year.

“Thank you so much.”

 

Gregg Lucas ‘has heart of gold’

Sue Comerford of American Legion Unit 6 sends this Cheer for Gregg Lucas at Moore’s Pie Shop:

“Gregg Lucas and his staff have given hundreds of pies this past year to the American Legion Auxiliary Unit 6 to take to CAM (Coordinated Assistance Ministries), Family Service Association, Gilead House, Rescue Mission for Women and Children, and Howard Haven. We made a special delivery to CAM right before Thanksgiving to make sure it had dessert for dinner.

“These organizations are always so thankful when we show up with pies from Moore’s Pie Shop. I can’t thank Gregg and his staff enough for providing pies for the less fortunate. He has a heart of gold.”

 

Gifts tell recipients they are loved

Van Taylor, executive director of the Kokomo Rescue Mission, sends this Cheer:

“The Kokomo Rescue Mission exists to proclaim the Good News and demonstrate the compassion of Jesus Christ to the homeless, hungry and hurting. The Red Ribbon Christmas deliveries are a major part of demonstrating that compassion, especially to children, this time of year.

“It is no secret that Christmas time invokes a desire in children to receive a special gift. Not only because new toys are fun to play with, but because of the message a gift sends to a child. Gifts communicate an unspoken language of love that everyone can understand, even a small child. Without saying a word, a gift tells the recipient they are important, that they matter, but, most of all, that they are loved. In fact, love being expressed as a gift is what Christmas is really all about. God wanted to show us just how much he loves us, so he gave us the only gift we ever really need in Jesus Christ our Savior. The familiar verse of John 3:16 sums it up beautifully: ‘For God so loved the world that He gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life.’ God loved, and so he gave.

“Giving is exactly what all of you have done. You love, and so you give. Thanks so much to each and every one of you for sending an expression of love to so many men, women and children this year. Thank you for giving your time, your money and many other resources to communicate a message of hope and love. May God bless you for letting your light shine before others.

“The Kokomo Rescue Mission would like to extend a special thank-you to our friends involved with We Care for funding for Red Ribbon Christmas; to GMCH for providing warehouse space; to Syndicate Sales, Guyer the Mover and Roger Miller for providing trucks and drivers for out-of-town deliveries; Eikenberry Trucking for providing a refrigerated trailer; to KRM’s amazing Christmas volunteers who work year-round, and finally the countless volunteers who worked during the Christmas season to make it happen.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll