Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 12, 2013

Day: Bless all you readers

As a local columnist for the Tribune, I have written about many different things – the time of my childhood, the times of my elders, the city where I live and my own family.

I even had two front page stories about our daughter, Patricia, written by the Tribune staff, who so graciously, along with Channel 6 News, told the story of her death and what we did as a memorial to her and all cancer patients who have passed on since 1994.

This is a wonderful newspaper, with good people telling it like it is.

When I wrote my story of Patricia Ann, it was to alert everyone to the fact that cancer is out there and it can be defeated. I never put that story in print, as it was long. I thought, one day, I would turn it into a book if I found someone who would back it.

As for my weekly column, I do it because I like doing it.

The Kokomo Tribune has printed 720 “Uncle Ray” columns. People from several generations read my column and email me how they like it.

Believe me when I brag about readers. Every once in a while, I’ll meet old-timers and ask a lot of questions about their lives. Once they get started telling how it was, you can see the sparkle in their eyes as they relate how hard it was in those times, and how rewarding it is to them that they made it through some rough times and now reap the results.

If you meet up with one of the older ladies, you will find hearts of gold nestled inside those rough and tough bodies. Two of the things I found out about those who are my elders is that they believe in being honest, and they believe in the bond of a handshake.

Many times I have wanted to go out and visit with writers like Bill Hall, Tom Hamilton and Jeff Hatton over in Greentown. Just recently I met up with Mr. Hall while visiting my brother, who had cancer. I found a man of distinction, honesty and knowledge. I told him I would be back, but my brother went Home, and I went down with some illness not known.

It started with the chills, the skakes, legs with no strength in them and cramps all around the middle section of my body. So since I can’t get out there to see him again, I hope someone will visit with him, pick his brain and gain knowledge from one who has written about his time and before.

We have a wealth of knowledge in the minds of people who have lived it, and we need to ask them to relate back to us. It is a treasure unopened that could help us learn the nuts and bolts of life.

In my lifetime I have been blessed knowing many people who believe as I do that you need to let those younger know how it was in your day. A lot of youngsters today are going the wrong way in life, as they experiment with the killing effects of dope. Many could have turned the other way and made something of their lives, if only someone cared enough to enlighten them with the happenings of yesterday.

Oh, I know I am not that pure person who never did anything wrong, but I know that the education I received from my parents and teachers kept me from crossing that destructive path.

You need to open your eyes to how things were yesterday and change accordingly.

I want to say, thanks and God bless.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Obama Offers Condolences at Dutch Embassy Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Raw: Lawmakers Scuffle in Ukraine's Parliament The Rock Finds His Inner 'Hercules' Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Raw: MH17 Passenger Remains in Kharkiv, Ukraine Raw: Israel Hits Gaza Targets, Destroys Mosques ShowBiz Minute: Hoffman, Oberst, Box Office WWII Vet Gets Medals, 70 Years Late Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll