Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 12, 2013

Day: Bless all you readers

As a local columnist for the Tribune, I have written about many different things – the time of my childhood, the times of my elders, the city where I live and my own family.

I even had two front page stories about our daughter, Patricia, written by the Tribune staff, who so graciously, along with Channel 6 News, told the story of her death and what we did as a memorial to her and all cancer patients who have passed on since 1994.

This is a wonderful newspaper, with good people telling it like it is.

When I wrote my story of Patricia Ann, it was to alert everyone to the fact that cancer is out there and it can be defeated. I never put that story in print, as it was long. I thought, one day, I would turn it into a book if I found someone who would back it.

As for my weekly column, I do it because I like doing it.

The Kokomo Tribune has printed 720 “Uncle Ray” columns. People from several generations read my column and email me how they like it.

Believe me when I brag about readers. Every once in a while, I’ll meet old-timers and ask a lot of questions about their lives. Once they get started telling how it was, you can see the sparkle in their eyes as they relate how hard it was in those times, and how rewarding it is to them that they made it through some rough times and now reap the results.

If you meet up with one of the older ladies, you will find hearts of gold nestled inside those rough and tough bodies. Two of the things I found out about those who are my elders is that they believe in being honest, and they believe in the bond of a handshake.

Many times I have wanted to go out and visit with writers like Bill Hall, Tom Hamilton and Jeff Hatton over in Greentown. Just recently I met up with Mr. Hall while visiting my brother, who had cancer. I found a man of distinction, honesty and knowledge. I told him I would be back, but my brother went Home, and I went down with some illness not known.

It started with the chills, the skakes, legs with no strength in them and cramps all around the middle section of my body. So since I can’t get out there to see him again, I hope someone will visit with him, pick his brain and gain knowledge from one who has written about his time and before.

We have a wealth of knowledge in the minds of people who have lived it, and we need to ask them to relate back to us. It is a treasure unopened that could help us learn the nuts and bolts of life.

In my lifetime I have been blessed knowing many people who believe as I do that you need to let those younger know how it was in your day. A lot of youngsters today are going the wrong way in life, as they experiment with the killing effects of dope. Many could have turned the other way and made something of their lives, if only someone cared enough to enlighten them with the happenings of yesterday.

Oh, I know I am not that pure person who never did anything wrong, but I know that the education I received from my parents and teachers kept me from crossing that destructive path.

You need to open your eyes to how things were yesterday and change accordingly.

I want to say, thanks and God bless.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll