Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 19, 2013

Cast a vote for centers

THE ISSUE: Adoption of the vote center concept by Howard County.

OUR VIEW: We urge the county election board to approve vote centers for the 2014 primary. They’re less expensive to operate than traditional polling precincts and more people-friendly to the average voter.

There’ll be no primary election this coming May. Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson likely is relieved.

For the past several years, she’s ensured voting machines were ready to take ballots by cannibalizing some broken models to keep the others operational.

Howard County just can’t find parts for its aging machines.

State certification for the county’s voting machines expires this year. They all must be replaced.

Wilson and other county officials have been studying the possibility of adopting the vote center concept, which was expanded two years ago by the state Legislature. We’re confident county leaders have discovered vote centers to be less expensive to operate than traditional polling precincts and more people-friendly for the average voter.

The county election board will hold a public meeting on vote centers in room 338 of the administration center, 220 N. Main St., at 2 p.m. Wednesday. After the public session, board members are expected to vote to implement vote centers in Howard County.

We urge them to vote unanimously in favor of the concept.

Vote centers give residents a chance to cast ballots at the time and place they find most convenient. Using electronic poll books, each voter’s unique ballot – whether from Honey Creek or Jackson townships – can be produced at any vote center. The poll books update immediately, ensuring a voter casts only one ballot.

Cass County residents have cast ballots at vote centers since 2008, and voter turnout in the countywide 2010 general election suggests they encourage higher participation. Voter turnout in Cass was 51 percent that year; it was 43.9 percent in Howard County.

Vote centers also are cheaper to operate. In Cass, the county clerk consolidated 40 precincts to seven vote centers in 2008, reducing the number of voting machines and poll workers required to conduct the election.

Every Indiana county would realize a savings by using vote centers, the Indiana Fiscal Policy Institute says. Three years ago, the non-partisan organization estimated Howard County could save $35,000 a year.

Switching from polling precincts to vote centers requires a unanimous vote of the county election board, and that’s the way it should be. This is a bipartisan process, and neither political party should be able to make such a change without the support of the other.

But we’re confident that after chatting with folks in Cass, Tippecanoe and Wayne counties, Howard County officials will adopt the concept before the 2014 primary election.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll