Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 19, 2013

Cast a vote for centers

THE ISSUE: Adoption of the vote center concept by Howard County.

OUR VIEW: We urge the county election board to approve vote centers for the 2014 primary. They’re less expensive to operate than traditional polling precincts and more people-friendly to the average voter.

There’ll be no primary election this coming May. Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson likely is relieved.

For the past several years, she’s ensured voting machines were ready to take ballots by cannibalizing some broken models to keep the others operational.

Howard County just can’t find parts for its aging machines.

State certification for the county’s voting machines expires this year. They all must be replaced.

Wilson and other county officials have been studying the possibility of adopting the vote center concept, which was expanded two years ago by the state Legislature. We’re confident county leaders have discovered vote centers to be less expensive to operate than traditional polling precincts and more people-friendly for the average voter.

The county election board will hold a public meeting on vote centers in room 338 of the administration center, 220 N. Main St., at 2 p.m. Wednesday. After the public session, board members are expected to vote to implement vote centers in Howard County.

We urge them to vote unanimously in favor of the concept.

Vote centers give residents a chance to cast ballots at the time and place they find most convenient. Using electronic poll books, each voter’s unique ballot – whether from Honey Creek or Jackson townships – can be produced at any vote center. The poll books update immediately, ensuring a voter casts only one ballot.

Cass County residents have cast ballots at vote centers since 2008, and voter turnout in the countywide 2010 general election suggests they encourage higher participation. Voter turnout in Cass was 51 percent that year; it was 43.9 percent in Howard County.

Vote centers also are cheaper to operate. In Cass, the county clerk consolidated 40 precincts to seven vote centers in 2008, reducing the number of voting machines and poll workers required to conduct the election.

Every Indiana county would realize a savings by using vote centers, the Indiana Fiscal Policy Institute says. Three years ago, the non-partisan organization estimated Howard County could save $35,000 a year.

Switching from polling precincts to vote centers requires a unanimous vote of the county election board, and that’s the way it should be. This is a bipartisan process, and neither political party should be able to make such a change without the support of the other.

But we’re confident that after chatting with folks in Cass, Tippecanoe and Wayne counties, Howard County officials will adopt the concept before the 2014 primary election.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll