Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 1, 2013

Bill offers real choice

— Gov. Mike Pence held a press conference Monday, ostensively to praise state lawmakers for the recently concluded legislative session.

He did that — and then mentioned he might veto some of the new legislation they just had sent his way for signature.

“There are a number of bills we have concerns about,” the first-term governor said.

He declined to identify which pieces of legislation he finds so troubling, but we hope they don’t include House Bill 1381. It’s state Rep. Mike Karickhoff’s proposal that prohibits school districts from accepting only the brightest transfer students while turning away those with special needs, low test scores and minor disciplinary problems.

The Kokomo Republican’s bill was three years in the making.

In 2010, as part of property tax reform, the Legislature did away with out-of-district tuition in public schools. Under “school choice,” families were afforded the opportunity to move their children to a district that better met their educational needs.

But lawmakers didn’t require Indiana’s public schools to limit which factors they could consider when admitting out-of-district students. Criteria for admission to another school district presently is a local decision.

In the Kokomo area, most school districts collect discipline and attendance records and ISTEP test scores before accepting a transfer student. Under Karickhoff’s bill, which passed 43-7 in the state Senate and 85-11 in the House, each school district must announce its number of vacancies at every grade level. Openings will be filled on a first come, first served basis. If there are more transfer requests than vacancies, lotteries will be used to fill them.

In Indiana presently, “school choice” means schools choose their students. And it’s difficult to defend the current set of state and local policies as “pro-choice” when so many families aren’t given one.

Demographics are the principal determining factor in school performance. Schools where a majority of parents are college-educated and solidly middle class usually excel. It’s no surprise then that schools in districts with low poverty rates want to maintain their demographic status.

But wasn’t the idea behind school choice to allow economically disadvantaged students to flee underperforming schools?

Karickhoff’s bill ensures students access to any and all of Indiana’s public schools. It protects families against any possibility of discrimination. It should be signed into law by the governor.

Hoosier families have waited too long for real school choice.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll