Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 5, 2013

Few words of advice

— Especially in this trying economic environment, it seems appropriate to offer a few nuggets of wisdom for those collecting high school and college diplomas.

First off, don’t panic — particularly those of you who graduate Tuesday from Indiana University Kokomo.

That first job might not pop up right away, but the economy will turn around, and opportunities will present themselves if you’re patient. In the meantime, soak up all the knowledge that comes your way.

And you soon-to-be high school graduates: Whether heading off to college, enlisting in the military or joining the workaday world, you should never stop learning.

When it comes time to choose a career, find something you love to do and do it well. If you really enjoy what you do every day, it never seems like work.

Start saving as soon as you possibly can. Put at least a small amount of every paycheck into a savings account so that when your car needs repairing or you have to fly to an out-of-state wedding, you won’t necessarily have to reach for the credit card.

Oh, and speaking of credit cards, don’t get in a hurry to sign up for one.

We know it’ll be tempting with all the offers you’ll be getting, but do your best to resist. And when you do finally relent, make sure you use the card sparingly, and do your best to pay off the balance at the end of each month.

We know that dorm-room pizza at 2 o’clock in the morning might seem like an emergency, but trust us, that credit card interest will be with you long after the heartburn is gone.

Take care of yourself. This is the only body you’re going to get, and the more you do to take care of it, the better off you’ll be in future years.

Be open to new experiences. Even though you might be sure you already know what you want to do with the rest of your life, don’t be afraid to try new things.

Don’t underestimate what you’re capable of, and don’t be afraid to make mistakes. We all make them. The key is to learn from the experience and try to avoid making the same mistake more than once.

Set some goals, and go after them, but don’t get so caught up in your pursuit of tomorrow that you forget to enjoy today. Take some time to enjoy the scenery, and whatever you do, have fun.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll