Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 13, 2013

Letter to the Editor: May 13, 2013

Blight sure to follow after failure of wind

Good people wouldn’t do this to their neighbors. This common refrain is being heard over eastern Howard County where industrial development is planned for our farmland in the form of massive wind turbines.

It is amazing that county ordinances permit construction of the equivalent of a 40-story building without comment from those they will be near. Why did we come here in the first place? It was to get away from the noise and congestion of the towns. Unfortunately, those who sold us the land may be the ones who will wreck our solitude for a few bucks.

It is sad to have our farmland, some of the world’s most productive, abused this way. In the meeting held last week in the Greentown Library, we heard testimonies from our Tipton County neighbors who already have experience with these turbines and came to warn us.

Calling these machines “green” is mistaken thinking. They are industrial sized and will significantly impact our roads, farmland and quality of life. We’ve no idea how local wildlife will fare. Wind turbines adversely affect birds, and other creatures will simply leave or avoid this area.

Consider the land impact. The 500 yards of concrete needed to support each turbine weighs 2 million pounds. It will be deep and affect the aquifer and water quality of shallower wells. Cement is made of crushed limestone, heated to over 2,500 degrees and then ground into fine powder. This dirty process creates a lot of carbon dioxide, and more results from fossil fuels burned to produce the heat. Weren’t we trying to avoid CO2?

Once in the ground, it is there for good, and that part of the field will be useless for farming. If a turbine is eventually decommissioned, the top portion of the cement can be removed to make that land again farmable, but the cement’s effect on subsurface water movement will be permanent.

Wind energy costs more than conventional sources and depends on subsidies. Its present availability explains the “emergency” for building these turbines now. As our government has done poorly at picking winners and losers, there is no assurance wind farms will be viable. Some wind company contracts contain removal clauses at the end of life, but bankruptcy could easily occur sooner as in the case of Solyndra, and guess who is stuck with them. Ours will quickly become a blighted area.

Tom Cornell, Greentown

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll