Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 11, 2013

Cheers & Jeers: May 12, 2013

Thanks to all who helped Ride For The Troops

The Ride For The Troops Committee of Tammy Gilbert, Debbie Biddle, Yacky Byers, Tom Badham and Rodney Walker sends this cheer to the supporters of the 11th Annual Ride For The Troops:

“A big cheer goes out to Kokomo for those who parked along the route to cheer on the bikes and to the riders who participated in the 11th Annual Ride For The Troops on Sunday, April 28. Despite the rain, we had a excellent turnout of 457 bikes!

“This ride is to honor all U.S. servicemen and women around the world, at home and our veterans. This ride is done strictly through volunteers, community support and donated items. We want to thank the community for their continued support and we plan to have the annual ride on Sunday, April 27, 2014. As a reminder, the ride is always held on the last Sunday of April.

“We wish to thank WRTV6, WWKI Crew, Coca-Cola, Leonard “Peanut” and Rhonda Harris, Bonnie “Orphan” Brown, Andrea Graham, Deb Sullivan, Donna Beavans, Ray and Gloria “Momma Glo” Tritt, Dylanee & Adessa Denny, Jack Smith, Felice Byers, Mike Nolder, “Fozzie” Eppley, Chad Eppley, Kevin Chism, Merlin Wagler, Scotty Barker, Cheryl Graham, Mike Burton, Hog Runners, Rodney Alderman, Rev. Will and Kathleen Mills of Horizon Church, Christian Motorcyclist Association, Kris Everett, Larry King, Rick Sasser, Rich & Carolyn Harlan, Bud Bell, Kevin & Nancy Pitzer, Julie Hostetler, Di & Michael Still, Tim Schultz, Sam’s Club, Meijer, Wal-Mart, DJ Richard Freeman, Steve Sallee, Mr. and Mrs. Brad Flook, Bimbo Bakeries USA, Bobby Basil-Miller’s Tavern, John Martino, Kokomo Parks, Carson Gerber, Kelly Lafferty, Lindsay Eckert of the Kokomo Tribune, Carol Greeno/Kokomo Perspective, Rachel Jenkins/Greentown Grapevine, Jackie Henry/Tipton Tribune and Elwood Call-Leader, Kokomo, Tipton, Elwood, Greentown & Grant City/County Police Forces, Tipton and Kokomo Fire Departments, Fire Chief Pat O’Neill, Police Chief Rob Baker, Kokomo Motorcycle Police Unit, Howard County EMA, Kokomo Mayor Greg Goodnight, Tipton Troop No. 595 and Terry York, ABATE Foundation, Jim’s Pizza, McCoy’s Pizza, Security Federal, Community First, Creative Financial Center, and all of the businesses who allowed us to post flyers in their stores.

“If we missed anyone, please know that we appreciate all of your help and support. We could not do this without all of the volunteers and the support of the community.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll