Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 2, 2014

April 3, 2014: Letters to the editor

Review of efficiency programs good idea

Recent news stories have given the impression that energy efficiency programs such as Duke Energy’s will end because of the passage of Senate Bill 340. As Indiana’s largest electric supplier, I can tell you that Duke Energy will continue to offer energy-saving programs for homeowners, businesses and industries.

If you go to Duke Energy’s website today, you’ll find a list of energy efficiency programs that are offered to our customers.

So what will be different now that Senate Bill 340 is law?

Most customers probably don’t realize that part of their electric bill today goes to paying for state-mandated energy efficiency programs. The problem is that after five years, utilities are on the verge of considerable, more costly program investments to reach the next level of aggressive energy savings targets established by the utility regulatory commission.

That means higher electric rates to cover more expensive program costs.

For large power customers, the bill increases would be significant — in some cases hundreds of thousands of dollars more in their annual electric costs.

Those large customers asked legislators for the opportunity to opt out of the state mandate. In the course of reviewing the request, legislators determined that now was the time to stop and review the programs so costs and benefits could be assessed for all customers — residential, commercial and industrial.

We think a review of our state’s energy efficiency policies is a good idea. Meanwhile, Duke Energy will evaluate our energy efficiency programs, work to improve them and continue to offer the most economically beneficial programs.

Today there are lighting programs, home energy reports, appliance recycling opportunities, school education programs, and rebates for businesses and industries that make energy efficiency improvements.

We will continue to offer similar opportunities now that Senate Bill 340 is law. I encourage you to go to our website at www.duke-energy.com to take advantage of them — now and in the future.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll