Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 23, 2013

Cheers & Jeers - Saturday, Feb. 23, 2013

Bob Pulley defined ‘cool’

Garrett W. Floyd of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a dear friend:

“How does one define ‘cool’?

“One of my dear friends, Robert ‘Bob’ Pulley, passed away Feb. 17. Bob was a childhood friend of James Dean in Fairmount, where they both lived and attended school.

“My wife and I met Bob years ago when he volunteered at the Fairmount Museum. We went there because we were huge fans of James Dean. We thought he was the greatest actor ever. Of course, he became larger than life, a legend worldwide.

“As we got to know Bob Pulley, we started to think more of him than of the Dean legend. Bob was one of the nicest, most down-to-earth persons we had ever met. People came to Fairmount from all over the world (James Dean fans) and many of them landed on Bob Pulley’s doorstep, and he welcomed them with open arms.

“He never pretended he was anything more than just a guy who came from Fairmount. To the people of Fairmount, James Dean was just one of their own — a normal kid who just happened to have a great talent.

“Bob was on many newscasts and national talk shows to discuss James Dean. Bob was always humble and gracious to everyone. He was just Bob Pulley. We met others who were important in Dean’s life, and most of them were just normal, decent, home-bred Hoosiers.

“James Dean was said to be the first teenage rebel. It is said to this day he defines ‘cool’. I can tell you there has never been anyone more cool than Bob Pulley. He was real.

“I soon forgot more and more as I talked with Bob on the phone or went to visit him and his lovely wife, Shirley, that he was affiliated with the memory of James Dean. We loved Bob for just being Bob. He was an honest to goodness human being who loved his wife and family, and his town of Fairmount.

“How does one define ‘cool’? I define cool as anyone who is like my friend Bob Pulley. As I wrote in one of my poems: ‘All we are is what and who we touch.’ Thank you, Bob, for touching my life.

“May God bless him, his family, the many Dean fans he touched, and his many friends. He will be greatly missed.”

Diana Theater ‘worth the drive’

Diana Grider of Russiaville and Jane Mitchell of Kokomo send this Cheer for a local theater:

“We would like to take this opportunity to give a big Cheer to The Diana Theater in Tipton.

“We missed the showing of ‘Lincoln’ in Kokomo and found that it was on in Tipton. Having never been to the Tipton theater, we decided to take that short trek to Tipton to see it. We were very pleasantly surprised by the nostalgia of the small theater.

“It was built in 1926 and has a huge screen and comfortable seats. The cost for the 7:15 p.m. showing was just $4, and the concessions were also very reasonable. There is only one screen and there are no matinees.

“They have one showing during the weekdays and two showings on Friday through Sunday. There is ample off-street parking right next to the theater. The people working there were very friendly, and the restroom was spotless.

“You may call 765-675-4300 to see what is currently playing.

“We highly recommend this very nice theater. It’s worth the drive!”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll