Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 23, 2013

Cheers & Jeers - Saturday, Feb. 23, 2013

Bob Pulley defined ‘cool’

Garrett W. Floyd of Kokomo sends this Cheer for a dear friend:

“How does one define ‘cool’?

“One of my dear friends, Robert ‘Bob’ Pulley, passed away Feb. 17. Bob was a childhood friend of James Dean in Fairmount, where they both lived and attended school.

“My wife and I met Bob years ago when he volunteered at the Fairmount Museum. We went there because we were huge fans of James Dean. We thought he was the greatest actor ever. Of course, he became larger than life, a legend worldwide.

“As we got to know Bob Pulley, we started to think more of him than of the Dean legend. Bob was one of the nicest, most down-to-earth persons we had ever met. People came to Fairmount from all over the world (James Dean fans) and many of them landed on Bob Pulley’s doorstep, and he welcomed them with open arms.

“He never pretended he was anything more than just a guy who came from Fairmount. To the people of Fairmount, James Dean was just one of their own — a normal kid who just happened to have a great talent.

“Bob was on many newscasts and national talk shows to discuss James Dean. Bob was always humble and gracious to everyone. He was just Bob Pulley. We met others who were important in Dean’s life, and most of them were just normal, decent, home-bred Hoosiers.

“James Dean was said to be the first teenage rebel. It is said to this day he defines ‘cool’. I can tell you there has never been anyone more cool than Bob Pulley. He was real.

“I soon forgot more and more as I talked with Bob on the phone or went to visit him and his lovely wife, Shirley, that he was affiliated with the memory of James Dean. We loved Bob for just being Bob. He was an honest to goodness human being who loved his wife and family, and his town of Fairmount.

“How does one define ‘cool’? I define cool as anyone who is like my friend Bob Pulley. As I wrote in one of my poems: ‘All we are is what and who we touch.’ Thank you, Bob, for touching my life.

“May God bless him, his family, the many Dean fans he touched, and his many friends. He will be greatly missed.”

Diana Theater ‘worth the drive’

Diana Grider of Russiaville and Jane Mitchell of Kokomo send this Cheer for a local theater:

“We would like to take this opportunity to give a big Cheer to The Diana Theater in Tipton.

“We missed the showing of ‘Lincoln’ in Kokomo and found that it was on in Tipton. Having never been to the Tipton theater, we decided to take that short trek to Tipton to see it. We were very pleasantly surprised by the nostalgia of the small theater.

“It was built in 1926 and has a huge screen and comfortable seats. The cost for the 7:15 p.m. showing was just $4, and the concessions were also very reasonable. There is only one screen and there are no matinees.

“They have one showing during the weekdays and two showings on Friday through Sunday. There is ample off-street parking right next to the theater. The people working there were very friendly, and the restroom was spotless.

“You may call 765-675-4300 to see what is currently playing.

“We highly recommend this very nice theater. It’s worth the drive!”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll