Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

December 11, 2013

Dec. 11, 2013: Letters to the editor

Courts should rulein adherence to law

A recent, troubling ruling by our local judiciary went against the City of Kokomo, which was trying to close a “gentlemen’s club” for violation of a zoning law. The club operated in a building in which a wall divided it from another business. With that business closed, the club removed the wall and expanded its business — by 19 percent, alleged the city — which violated a law limiting one-time expansion by that kind of business to no more than 10 percent.

The judge thought the whole situation was “incomprehensible.” But consider:

The club took down the wall in the building for the purpose of expanding its business, without making the building itself any bigger. A few simple measurements and a before-and-after comparison will reveal the percentage of expansion. If it is more than 10 percent, then the club is in violation of an existing, legitimate law currently in effect.

The city alleged a 19 percent, one-time expansion did take place, and if true the correct ruling should have been in the city’s favor. The judge said the way the law was worded, the club could have expanded by 10 percent on two consecutive days and legally reach the maximum allowed 20 percent expansion under the statute. But 19 percent is not 10 percent.

What is disturbing about this is the judiciary did not adhere to a legitimate, existing law. The court is not authorized to write law, and it was not in this case petitioned to call into question the legitimacy of the law, to evaluate it and determine if it is or isn’t properly conceived and written in the most efficient way to achieve what the city wants to accomplish with it.

The law exists as it has been written, and it is expected to be applied to the type of circumstances for which it was designed. To do otherwise the judiciary would have to re-write the law in order to make a ruling in some other way than what the law upholds.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll