Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 17, 2012

Green rides, thick wallets

Kokomo —  

After pump prices reached $3.79 a gallon nationally, Congressman Joe Donnelly fired off a letter to President Obama.
 
“We must act now to soften the impact high gas prices are having on our economy,” the Indiana Democrat wrote March 26. He urged the president to release oil from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve and assist efforts to expand domestic drilling.
 
Such recommendations are good material for Donnelly’s senatorial campaign this fall but ineffective solutions for soaring gasoline costs. The U.S. produces about 5.6 million barrels of oil a day – a nine-year high, the president said last month – yet Kokomo motorists still pay nearly $4 a gallon.
 
What we need from lawmakers are initiatives that encourage conservation and put money in our pockets. Lisa Margonelli, publisher of EnergyTrap.org, has such a plan – one that could secure the jobs of Kokomo’s 8,300 autoworkers.
 
Margonelli proposes a federal auto loan guarantee program. Consumers would be offered notes at 5 percent interest to buy vehicles that get more than 35 mpg.
 
“This is better than the stimulus programs suggested by either party, as it would increase middle-class disposable income by up to $3,500 while creating jobs in Detroit,” she says, “and it would lower fuel imports and greenhouse gas emissions to boot.”
 
According to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average American household spent $178 a month fueling its vehicles in 2010. Gas prices through 2011 increased an average of 74 cents per gallon, or more than 26 percent.
 
So, the typical family spent $225 a month on gasoline last year – and we’re on track for a repeat in 2012. America could use another program like Cash for Clunkers, but one that actually helps the middle class.
 
Cash for Clunkers cost $2.8 billion but benefited only the financially secure. Credit was tight in 2009. Many couldn’t qualify for a new-car loan.
 
The oil industry receives about $4 billion a year in subsidies and tax breaks. Low-income households get tax credits to retrofit their homes for energy efficiency. We need an incentive aimed at middle-income workers.
 
By financing a federal car loan guarantee with a portion of the oil industry’s government giveaway, we could drive down fuel costs for wage-earners, reduce oil consumption and increase demand for gasoline-sipping vehicles.
 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Scholarship a fine award Congratulations to Howard County high school seniors Joowon Lee and Graham Ortmann on winning a 2014 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Lee, of Western High School, plans to attend Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis to study biolog

    April 24, 2014

  • STATE SEN. JIM BUCK: Changes pave way to a brighter future In recent legislative sessions, Indiana has enacted substantial policy reforms that resulted in greater economic freedom and stronger economic growth. Economic growth has real implications for Hoosier families: jobs for those unemployed; promotions f

    April 24, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: U.S. networks struggle to cover economic news Network television newsrooms often must cover stories for which they have no internal experts. That's why aeronautic engineers and pilots are put on the air to analyze airplane emergencies. Judges and lawyers are paraded out to discuss whatever sensa

    April 24, 2014

  • LETTER: Tipton commissioner keeps agency matters secret Commissioner keeps panel matters secret An April 14 letter exposed the truth about a politician's actions vs. what he writes or says. The minutes from an Alliance Board governmental meeting indicated Phil Heron voted no for a request to allow public

    April 24, 2014

  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: You've gotta keep 'em separated

    In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren’t holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I never felt the presence of anything that might be described as transcendent or spiritual.

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll