Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 23, 2013

Day: Be your brother’s keeper

A friend asked whether I had taken a good look at the responsibility one has to another, friend or foe. So I thought I would dwell upon that target in this week’s column.

First off, let me tell you there have been times when I shirked my responsibility, and paid for it with not only pain but also with losing a friend. That is not good.

We all have some sort of responsibility to another, such as family, friends, even those we have never met. It would not do any justice to open those doors once opened. The pain will swell to a size that could not come out of those doors.

As children, we learn responsibility from our elders, and we use it to embark on a life of doing what is right. Our parents are and were the bearers of responsibility to the children they brought into the world. Our teachers are next in line, responsible to those children who are starting to show what they have learned.

Our higher learning takes us to a level of being responsible to a business or firm, where all must pull their own weight. You can’t just sit back with your feet on the desk and expect to get the job done.

In our cities, there are many who are responsible to those who elected them to office, and it seems like they have already set in with feet on the desk and a paycheck on its way to their pockets. In the states, we have governors who line up their buddies and put them in positions of responsibility with no training, except as friends. In the federal government, there are levels of responsibility and incompetent leaders sitting back and getting a paycheck for doing nothing.

I am not talking about any certain holders of those areas of responsibility, as most of us know without asking who is doing the job and who is jobbing us. So when we talk about people being responsible, we have to take a good look both close up and far away, and tell ourselves we are being responsible for electing those who are not acting responsible or willing to do anything for the betterment of our beloved USA. Maybe we need to hold up on their checks each pay period, and even tell them to go home and stay there.

Who is responsible for all those who sneak across our borders and take our jobs? Now, don’t get me wrong, my friends. I have a lot of friends who came over, got their citizenship papers and took their vows as Americans who will go by the Constitution of the USA and live free with rights set down by that Constitution. But we have good old Americans sitting in our chairs of government who really ought to be replaced or have their pay adjusted for what they get done for us. Doing that to them would put them down to the pay that our middle class tries to live on.

I am an old man who believes that if you were elected to do a job, it should be done as best as possible. That is the responsibility that they owe us.

We go on being responsible for the things we do, yet not for the results, which is a shame. So let’s just say that we reap what we sow. Responsibility is a practice of action.

Ray “Uncle Ray” Day is a weekly contributor to the Kokomo Tribune. Contact him at uncleray@earthlink.net.

 

        For more on this story and other local news, subscribe to The Kokomo Tribune eEdition, or our print edition

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • ANDREA NEAL: Fleeting canal era had lasting impact on state Editor’s note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. In 1825, the Erie Canal was completed to great fanfare. Cannon fire, parades, balls and speeches celebrated the speed and ski

    July 30, 2014

  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll