Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 24, 2013

Editorial - March 24, 2013: Take city up on its offer

The issue: Tornado season.

Our view: Weather radios are more reliable warning devices than tornado sirens. If you’re a Kokomo resident, pick one up at City Hall for just $9.



Folks around these parts awoke June 6, 2010, feeling fortunate. Some of our neighbors to the west and north ... not so much. Tornadoes tore through Carroll, Cass and Miami counties very early that Sunday morning. A woman suffered minor injuries after a twister flattened her mobile home near Deacon.

The worst of that storm system spared Howard County, but thunderstorms and strong winds pummeled the area. Many people slept through the whole thing.

If you did, you need to invest in a weather radio. And if you live within Kokomo’s city limits — particularly you folks in the newly annexed areas — pick one up at the City Hall welcome center for just $9. All you need to bring with you is one of the following: a valid driver’s license, a state ID card or a utility bill from the past 90 days.

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration radios, like the model the city is offering Kokomo residents at a $29 discount, pick up broadcasts from the National Weather Service. Such broadcasts provide official storm warnings and watches, as well as general weather information, 24 hours a day.

Purchase one and locate it near your bed. An alarm will awaken you and advise you to take shelter if you’re in the path of a severe storm or flood.

Weather radios arguably are more reliable than tornado sirens — a horn’s blast could be difficult to hear when your windows are closed and your air conditioning is running. And they’re a necessity for those who live in a mobile home.

Some 20 million Americans live in manufactured homes, and the fatality rate for their residents during a tornado is more than 10 times that of permanent structures.

Storms, floods and tornadoes can strike any month of the year. If you’re a city resident, purchase a weather radio at City Hall, 100 S. Union St.

And if you live in the county, please consider one.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Chewing over news in bite-size vignettes Today, I am going to share a few "opinionettes" about current news items. Ready? Let's go! City prosperity The unemployment rate in the United States is down to 6.7 percent. This is its lowest level since October 2008. When I remember government effo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll