Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

April 28, 2013

Raising bar in education

— The Indiana General Assembly handed Gov. Mike Pence last week a personal victory of sorts: A state budget that cuts personal income taxes 5 percent over the next four years.

Pence proposed and, for much of the legislative session, demanded a 10 percent income-tax cut for Hoosiers. The plan was central to his run for governor, but perhaps not as important as his education proposals during the 2012 campaign.

The governor signed two bills April 15 that state leaders hope will improve career and technical training in high schools across Indiana. Stronger job-training programs were just one part of Pence’s plan to improve graduation rates. Another was to implement higher standards in Indiana classrooms, with a focus on college readiness.

Pence should spend this summer advocating the latter. The Education and Workforce Development Commission put forward just such a plan in cooperation with the Indiana University Public Policy Institute last year.

Under the proposal, students who had shown they were ready would basically spend their senior years taking classes they would previously have taken as freshmen in college. Others would spend that final year training for a vocation, and still others would spend it getting ready for college or career training.

Too often, students go to college only to find themselves having to take remedial classes to catch up. The commission’s plan would have kids taking those classes during their senior year in high school.

The overall goal would be to nearly double the number of Hoosiers with college degrees by 2025.

The Indiana College Readiness Report, released Thursday by the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, suggests Pence’s call for stiffer high school standards could increase college graduations.

Kokomo High School graduated 385 students in 2011, and 239 of them enrolled in college that fall, according to the report. Those who earned an honors diploma averaged a 3.0 GPA their freshman year of college. Those who graduated with a Core 40 diploma averaged a 1.7 GPA.

Worse yet, 48 percent of Kokomo’s Core 40 graduates were required to take remedial classes at college. At the end of their freshman year, the Core 40 graduates averaged just 12.8 college credits — fewer than half the number needed to be considered a college sophomore.

By 2018, 55 percent of Indiana jobs will require some postsecondary education, according to a recent from the Georgetown University Center on Education and the Workforce.

With Pence’s leadership, the state must act to meet that demand. The next generation is counting on it.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership' On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than

    April 16, 2014

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Weekly wrap FEMA no friend to hardship Many government officials ... across the state are likely asking themselves if the winter of 2014 will ever end. Sure, the snow has long since melted, but the bills from plowing snow, treating roads and hauling away the whi

    April 14, 2014

  • Immunize your child Pertussis is a communicable disease Americans just don't worry about today. Health professionals begin immunizing infants against pertussis, diphtheria and tetanus with the DTaP vaccine just two months after birth. But pertussis, better known as whoo

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll