Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

May 10, 2013

Hicks: The real cause of Indiana’s ‘brain drain’

It is neither a problem of our universities nor a result of our business relocation efforts

This week across Indiana bright, talented and well-educated young people pack up their meager campus belongings and head out to new jobs. Their employment prospects, for the minority who don’t yet have jobs, are fantastic. The March unemployment rate among those with a bachelor’s degree or higher was 3.8 percent, even though they are in the labor force at a rate 63 percent higher than their non-graduate peers. While the popular media worries a lot about college graduates in these economic climes, labor markets seem unperturbed about their prospects. We probably ought to save our worries for other problems.

Within the Midwest, we hear a continued lament about the “brain drain” and the shortage of key science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) graduates. To remedy this, our state rewards schools for producing more such graduates, and inadvertently incentivizes them to bring in more out-of-state students for these programs. Rarely in the annals of public policy have we so misdiagnosed a problem, and so assuredly applied the wrong medicine.

To be clear, brain drain is a genuine problem in Indiana. In fact, we lose thousands of graduates (STEM and otherwise) to other states from our universities every year. Instead of slowing this trend, our higher education financing policies accelerate this problem by pushing more students into majors that are in demand elsewhere. That is the bitter (and expensive) medicine taxpayers, students, businesses and universities are forced to swallow.

Brain drain in Indiana is neither a problem of our universities nor a result of our business relocation efforts. IEDC is connecting with a record share of new job creators, successfully touting the truth about our great fiscal and regulatory environment. Our problem is not in the immediate domain of our schools, economic developers or marketers. The problem of brain drain is a good bit simpler than that. It is in our communities.

Here in Indiana, about one in seven counties has a population that is growing faster than the national rate. A tad more than half are in relative decline, growing more slowly than the nation as a whole. The remaining third of Hoosier counties are in their fourth or fifth decade of decline. Why is that?

The plain but disagreeable truth is that a majority of Indiana counties are not places where college grads, or young people in general, aspire to live. Employers know this, and so those who need these talented young people locate elsewhere. Today’s high-income and young workers are looking for good, if not great, school systems for their kids. They want clean, safe and livable communities and a mix of recreational activities. They want their home to grow in value and they want to have access to the comely diversions of arts and culture. Only a handful of Indiana counties offer these things in abundance, as migration statistics painfully reveal young people voting with their feet.

Remedies for our brain drain problems are neither easy nor fast and so demand urgent attention. But first we must understand where the real problems are, as well as where they are not.

Michael J. Hicks, is director of the Center for Business and Economic Research and an associate professor of economics in the Miller College of Business at Ball State University.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll