Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

May 10, 2013

Hicks: The real cause of Indiana’s ‘brain drain’

It is neither a problem of our universities nor a result of our business relocation efforts

This week across Indiana bright, talented and well-educated young people pack up their meager campus belongings and head out to new jobs. Their employment prospects, for the minority who don’t yet have jobs, are fantastic. The March unemployment rate among those with a bachelor’s degree or higher was 3.8 percent, even though they are in the labor force at a rate 63 percent higher than their non-graduate peers. While the popular media worries a lot about college graduates in these economic climes, labor markets seem unperturbed about their prospects. We probably ought to save our worries for other problems.

Within the Midwest, we hear a continued lament about the “brain drain” and the shortage of key science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) graduates. To remedy this, our state rewards schools for producing more such graduates, and inadvertently incentivizes them to bring in more out-of-state students for these programs. Rarely in the annals of public policy have we so misdiagnosed a problem, and so assuredly applied the wrong medicine.

To be clear, brain drain is a genuine problem in Indiana. In fact, we lose thousands of graduates (STEM and otherwise) to other states from our universities every year. Instead of slowing this trend, our higher education financing policies accelerate this problem by pushing more students into majors that are in demand elsewhere. That is the bitter (and expensive) medicine taxpayers, students, businesses and universities are forced to swallow.

Brain drain in Indiana is neither a problem of our universities nor a result of our business relocation efforts. IEDC is connecting with a record share of new job creators, successfully touting the truth about our great fiscal and regulatory environment. Our problem is not in the immediate domain of our schools, economic developers or marketers. The problem of brain drain is a good bit simpler than that. It is in our communities.

Here in Indiana, about one in seven counties has a population that is growing faster than the national rate. A tad more than half are in relative decline, growing more slowly than the nation as a whole. The remaining third of Hoosier counties are in their fourth or fifth decade of decline. Why is that?

The plain but disagreeable truth is that a majority of Indiana counties are not places where college grads, or young people in general, aspire to live. Employers know this, and so those who need these talented young people locate elsewhere. Today’s high-income and young workers are looking for good, if not great, school systems for their kids. They want clean, safe and livable communities and a mix of recreational activities. They want their home to grow in value and they want to have access to the comely diversions of arts and culture. Only a handful of Indiana counties offer these things in abundance, as migration statistics painfully reveal young people voting with their feet.

Remedies for our brain drain problems are neither easy nor fast and so demand urgent attention. But first we must understand where the real problems are, as well as where they are not.

Michael J. Hicks, is director of the Center for Business and Economic Research and an associate professor of economics in the Miller College of Business at Ball State University.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll