Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

March 13, 2013

House of Burgess: Mr. Rodman goes to Pyongyang

Dennis Rodman accidentally becomes a political emissary

(Continued)

The rest of the interview was just as verbally confusing. Stephanopoulos was able to extract a few pieces of information from Rodman before their time was up, though: Kim Jong-un doesn’t want war, both Kim Jong-un and Barack Obama love basketball and Kim Jong-un wants President Obama to call him. Here’s how the interview ended:

STEPHANOPOULOS: Next time you go back you should bring this report from Human Rights Watch with you and maybe ask him questions about that as well. You might learn a lot more and it might press him as well. But thank you for coming on this morning and sharing your impressions.

RODMAN: But either way, either way, guess what though, guess what, thank you for the report. Guess what, guess what, don’t hate me, don’t hate me, guess what, don’t hate me, guess what, don’t hate me.

Rodman inserted himself into geopolitics at a time when North Korea’s usual chest-thumping has quickly become more vocal than usual.

“North Korea on Friday responded to tougher sanctions from the U.N. Security Council with another barrage of vitriol, repeating a vow to ditch all nonaggression pacts with the South,” reported CNN. “A day after the isolated regime in Pyongyang had threatened a possible ‘pre-emptive nuclear attack,’ something analysts say they think is unlikely, its official news agency reeled off a number of agreements with South Korea that it said would no longer apply.”

North Korea hopefully, probably won’t restart the Korean War any time soon. But if I were President Obama, I’d keep Rodman’s phone number on speed dial just in case. At first glance, Rodman being one of the only Americans Kim Jong-un has ever met in person seems strange. But, if you really think about it, it sort of makes sense. North Korea has been referred to as the “hermit kingdom” for its heavy-handed isolationism. To promote his 1996 autobiography “Bad As I Wanna Be,” Rodman famously wore a wedding dress and said he was marrying himself. Rodman and North Korea are two singularly self-contained entities. Of course they would hang out. Rodman gets to be crazy in public for the same reason North Korea does: they both have the goods to back it up. Rodman, for all his insanity, is still considered one of the best rebounding forwards in the history of professional basketball. North Korea may still be caught in the Stone Age culturally, but they do have nuclear weapons. You can dismiss Dennis Rodman. You can roll your eyes at North Korea. But you do both at your own peril.

Rob Burgess, Tribune night editor, may be reached by calling 765-454-8577, via email at rob.burgess@kokomotribune.com or on Twitter at www.twitter.com/robaburg.

 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll