Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 16, 2014

KEVIN LEININGER: Compromise is possible on same-sex marriage bill

That's if anyone really wants one.

Of all the issues to be consi-dered by the General Assembly, none has generated more attention or controversy than House Joint Resolution 3 which, if passed then ratified by voters, would add this sentence to the state constitution: “Only a marriage between one man and one woman shall be valid or recognized as a marriage in Indiana.”

But the bill also includes a second provision that has gone almost unnoticed — one that complicates an already difficult issue but, ironically, could provide at least a temporary compromise that makes sense in terms of policy and politics alike.

“No one knows [what the second sentence] means. It’s very ambiguous and poorly written,” Freedom Indiana spokeswoman Jennifer Wagner said of the provision stating that, if HJR-3 passes, “A legal status identical or substantially similar to that of marriage for unmarried individuals shall not be valid or recognized.”

The intent is open to interpretation, of course, but Wagner and Freedom Indiana, which has mobilized opposition to the bill among universities, mayors, corporations and others, say “no one has been able to clearly define what affects [it] would have on existing marriages, domestic partner benefits, human-rights ordinances, legal contracts and benefits for unmarried couples.”

Now, I have no doubt the overwhelming majority of HJR-3 opponents are motivated by their support of same-sex marriage — an issue that, as I have written before, pits my libertarian instincts against my understanding of Scripture. But even staunch gay-marriage opponents should be concerned the second clause unnecessarily injects language that is not only vague but overly broad. The state has a legitimate interest in defining marriage — whatever that definition is — but far less standing as to whether same-sex couples enter into contractual relationships or are covered by businesses’ benefits programs.

“Some people think we should amend out that second clause,” said state Senate President David Long, R-Fort Wayne, who called the issue “the toughest I’ve had to deal with in 17 years.” Although Long pledged recently on my “Fort Report” program the Legislature would not avoid a vote on HJR-3 this session, he added that “what the bill looks like is the issue. There are a lot of unknowns.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll