Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 16, 2014

Financial aid made easier

This is an exciting time for the families of our community’s high school seniors. College acceptance letters are being distributed.

It’s also a stressful season for these families. They’re weighing which college their child will attend in the fall.

For many, cost will be a dominate, if not deciding, factor. Some might believe they just can’t afford it.

There are resources available, like College Goal Sunday. Financial aid professionals will help families find the assistance they need at Indiana University Kokomo’s Kelley Center at 2 p.m. Feb. 23.

Now in its 25th year, College Goal Sunday helps college-bound students and their families complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid, or FAFSA. The program provides on-site help from financial aid experts, primarily from Indiana colleges and universities.

Most U.S. colleges require students seeking federal financial aid, including grants and loans, to complete the FAFSA. And it most be received by the federal processor by March 10 to be considered for state aid.

Students should attend with a parent or guardian and bring their parents’ completed 2013 IRS 1040 tax returns, W-2 Forms and other 2013 income and benefits information. If students worked last year, they should also bring their income information. Students 24 years or older may attend alone and bring their completed tax, income and benefits information.

Students who attend any of the College Goal Sunday sites and submit a completed evaluation form will automatically be entered in a drawing for one of three educational prizes worth $1,000, which will be sent directly to a college selected by the winners.

To learn more about College Goal Sunday or for answers to specific financial aid questions, visit collegegoalsunday.org or call the Learn More Indiana hotline at 800-992-2076.

If you and your high school senior worry about the cost of college, make plans to attend College Goal Sunday Feb. 23 at IU Kokomo.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: Indiana: Pro-adoption or just a 'deadbeat parent' This past week we’ve learned the state of Indiana has essentially stiffed 1,400 families who have adopted special needs children. The subsidies they were promised to raise kids in the state’s foster child program have been denied, prompting one LaPor

    July 14, 2014

  • DAN COATS: Rights of conscience must be safeguarded The Supreme Court recently issued a ruling that marked an important development in the ongoing national debate on religious freedom.In a 5-4 decision, the court ruled the contraception coverage mandate, imposed by the Obama administration under the A

    July 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Calling for an update According to a national research firm, most people over 65 do not own a cellphone. This is in contrast to the millennials who admit the first thing they do in the morning and the last thing they do each night is check their mobile phone. It must be n

    July 14, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Eliminate distractions for teen drivers Eliminate distractions for teen drivers A recent study shows Indiana is the worst state in the country when it comes to teen driver fatalities. The study, done by WalletHub, a personal finance website, ranks Indiana 50th behind Kentucky and New Mexic

    July 14, 2014

  • Code reforms need funding People who commit the most violent of crimes in Indiana soon will serve longer prison sentences. Fewer people who are convicted of low-level felonies soon will be sentenced to prison. Local judges now have more latitude when handing down sentences. O

    July 13, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Unofficial 'Hoosierisms' stylebook gets update I am one of these guys who loves to play with language. I love to play Bog (a variation of Boggle) on my computer. When someone uses a different term or pronounces a word differently, I usually pick it up immediately. I find it fascinating. If you en

    July 13, 2014

  • LETTERS: 'God's justice system' needs to be adopted 'God's justice system' needs to be adopted We don't have a justice system. It is just a system. With all the shootings and murders in the news, especially in the last couple of weeks, I have not heard one lawmaker or politician suggest the swift and

    July 13, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: A small business ranking The Kauffman Foundation recently released a study measuring the friendliness of each state to small businesses. While the study suffered most of the extreme weaknesses of survey research — especially small samples and the bias of opinion over action

    July 13, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Garage sale draws 200 Garage sale draws 200Joyce Heady of Kokomo sends the Cheer to the community:“Starting with a great ad in the Kokomo Tribune, our Spina Bifida Garage Sale was a success.“My great-grandson has spina bifida. Our family and friends want to help find a cu

    July 12, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Listen to your elders My life as a youngster was one that prepared me for today. In my time, the rule was to respect our elders.They had already been through all the hard times, and were able to instruct you on what is the best way to go. They were the best type of people

    July 12, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Stolen Car Collides With Greyhound Bus Raw: Violence Mars Argentina's WC Celebration Germany Wins the World Cup 1-0 Jails Struggle With Role As Makeshift Asylums NYC Artist Creates Wearable Armor Sculpture Raw: Thousands Celebrate World Cup Win in Berlin Argentina Fans Sad but Proud in Loss Bull Run Comes to Middle America Malala Meets 'Bring Back Our Girls' Activists Space Station Shipment Launched From Virginia Israel Deploys Ground Troops to Gaza Strip World-renowned Conductor Lorin Maazel Dies
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll