Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 17, 2014

MARK BENNETT: What is Indiana's image in the eyes of the world?

Statehouse must consider impact of repealing personal property tax.

A bus pulled up to the curb near the riverfront in downtown Chicago. An unusual advertise-ment was painted on its side.

Its slogan read, “Indiana: We’re not only a workforce, but a force that works.” A smiling woman was pictured inside a logo shaped like a cog.

I spotted the ad on a visit to the Windy City last month with my wife. It seemed peculiar, like a Burger King poster inside a McDonald’s restaurant. Indiana and Illinois are economic rivals, right? Hoosier officials enjoy deriding their western neighbor state for its fiscal calamities and embattled former governors. Beyond that duel, though, the ad poses a deeper question.

What is Indiana’s image in the eyes of the outside world?

The “State That Works” marketing campaign aims to “draw attention to the numerous reasons Indiana is a state that works for business,” according to the Indiana Economic Development Corp., which launched the promotions last year.

The ads tout, as Indiana Commerce Secretary Victor Smith said then, “a low-tax environment that glows vividly with America’s best-skilled workforce, a triple-A credit rating and all the ingredients needed to grow a world-class business.”

The multimedia ads target corporate executives in “high-tax” states, such as California, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York and, yes, Illinois. In addition to the Chicago buses, 15-second pro-Indiana ads — “Integrity is our complexion, innovation is our currency” — flash on jumbo screens on Times Square. The hope is the execs will see the pitch, think twice about Indiana, and locate a business here.

The IEDC spent $65,000 on the promotions in 2013, and spokeswoman Katelyn Hancock stated in an email to the Tribune-Star, “The IEDC’s ‘A State That Works’ campaign continues to be very successful.” Online ads drew 218,300 clicks from May through September, she reported, exceeding industry standards. Hancock couldn’t speculate yet on expenditures for the ads this year, but pointed out the Indiana Legislature appropriated $3 million for IEDC marketing in the two-year budget.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • State aims at outbreaks More than 200 Western School Corp. students were vaccinated for chickenpox after an outbreak in March 2012.The virus was confirmed to have infected five fifth-graders, the Howard County Health Department reported. It acted quickly to prevent the infe

    July 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Expiring term heightens urgency of legislator's mission State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law that prevents the children of undocumented immigrants from paying i

    July 22, 2014

  • LETTERS: Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA? Trust chemical, seed firms and the FDA?Let’s see ... Mr. Don Villwock, Indiana Farm Bureau president, wants the FDA to define what genetically engineered foods are, and then he wants it to be optional or voluntary for food companies to tell consumers

    July 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Indiana Democrats deal with divide on education On the face of it, the battles between Democratic Schools Superintendent Glenda Ritz and supporters and staff of Republican Gov. Mike Pence have been a unifying force for Indiana Democrats. But the scrapping has exposed a deep rift within the party o

    July 22, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Is Evan Bayh contemplating another gubernatorial run? This could be the saga of “LeBron Bayh.”Like a thunderhead brewing in the distance, you could see this one coming. This was the progression: former state Democratic Chairman Dan Parker announces he will not become a candidate for mayor of Indianapoli

    July 21, 2014

  • LETTERS: Show support where you spend money Show support where you spend moneyReinvest in your community. It is something you hear often, but what does it mean and how do you effectively do it?Thankfully, there are people in our community who can give six-figure donations to projects like the

    July 21, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Please go away already My wife is planning our summer vacation, which we will take in the fall. We took our spring vacation this summer. We got behind in 1984 and still haven't caught up. I don't have much input into the planning of these trips, but Mary Ellen did assign m

    July 21, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: All of Indy must step forward All of Indy must step forwardIt has been a brutal week, one filled with violence, suffering, mourning and reflection.The brutality began on the night of July 4, when two women were shot and wounded on the Eastside. Police found 30 bullet casings in t

    July 21, 2014

  • Testament to our youth We hear complaints — all the time — from campaigning politicians, TV pundits and lobbyists peddling “family values.” The federal government, they say, has “taken God out of our schools.”God never left. Not here. Kokomo City Hall, the United Way of Ho

    July 20, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Internet, and future of communication One morning, I was chatting with some retired folks and the subject of paying bills on the Internet came up. One woman said she disposed of her computer years ago and pays her bills by mail. I commented she could get by just fine doing that. The othe

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: Israel Bombs Multiple Targets in Gaza Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment Raw: Cargo Craft Undocks From Space Station Widow: Jury Sent Big Tobacco a $23B Message New Orleans Plans to Recycle Cigarette Butts UN Security Council Calls for MH 17 Crash Probe Obama Bestows Medal of Honor on NH Veteran Texas Sending National Guard Troops to Border Hopkins to Pay $190M After Pelvic Exams Taped Foxx Cites Washington 'Circus Mirror' NASA Ceremony Honors Moon Walker Neil Armstrong Obama Voices Concern About Casualties in Mideast Diplomacy Intensifies Amid Mounting Gaza Toll AP Exclusive: American Beaten in Israel Speaks Obama Protects Gay, Transgender Workers Raw: Gaza Rescuers Search Rubble for Survivors Raw: International Team Inspects MH17 Bodies Raw: 25 Family Members Killed in Gaza Airstrike US Teen Beaten in Mideast Talks About Ordeal 'Weird Al' Is Wowed by Album's Success
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll