Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 17, 2014

MARK BENNETT: What is Indiana's image in the eyes of the world?

Statehouse must consider impact of repealing personal property tax.

(Continued)

Of course, not every out-of-stater views Indiana through that prism.

Some may think of bumpy highways and dilapidated downtown buildings in Hoosier cities. “There’s a lot of neglect in the state,” said Morton Marcus, an economic columnist and retired director of the Indiana Business Research Center. He cited the landscape visible while driving into Indiana from Chicago on the Indiana Toll Road.

“Unless you’re a romantic about dying industries and decaying cities,” Marcus said by telephone, “you don’t have much of a positive feeling about the state.”

The reality of that situation, present in various Hoosier communities and seen by visitors, can’t be shrugged off. Thus, Indiana legislators should think twice about eliminating the state’s tax on business equipment (known as the business personal property tax) as Gov. Mike Pence envisions. Despite the logical pluses of adding it to the long list of other tax cuts enacted over the past decade, dropping this tax would shift the burden of funding $1 billion for local services to work-a-day Hoosiers and further squeeze already-squeezed cities and towns, school districts and libraries.

Most supporters of the equipment tax cut, including Pence and some leaders of the Republican-controlled Legislature, seem to acknowledge a replacement source for funding police protection, city parks upkeep and schools is necessary, but have yet to offer a good alternative. Republican House Speaker Brian Bosma’s vision is a scaled-back version of the Pence plan. Indiana’s leaders need to consider the impact of fully eliminating the tax.

Indiana already has its low-tax, business-friendly status in the quest to lure new companies here. The other half of the economic equation is just as important. High-caliber, long-term, solid-paying employers want to find active, well-kept, energetic and entertaining communities where employees can hike and bike on smooth trails, send kids to fully staffed and challenging schools, recreate in scenic parks, drive on evenly paved roads, breathe clean air, visit innovative libraries, and raise families in neighborhoods with properly funded police and fire protection.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll