Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 23, 2014

Jan. 23, 2014: Letters to the editor

Tipton Co. must stop abusing legal help

Tipton County citizens need to be aware that, from 2009 to 2012, the county spent an average of just under $24,000 per year on legal services paid to county attorney John Brooke. In 2013, his bills totaled more than $47,000.

This is almost double what the county was paying the previous four years. This increase is obviously related to having Brooke attend nearly every commissioners meeting and writing the minutes for board meetings. Another expense now being incurred is having the attorney write all of the answers to complaints filed with the Indiana Public Access Counselor. These complaints are due to citizens not receiving public record documents from the Auditor’s Office in a timely manner and Open Door Law violations. I have learned that in the past, there were rarely any complaints about not receiving public documents on time, and any Open Door Law violation responses were handled by the officials being accused of the violation.

Now we have the county attorney answering the complaints, instead of the public official who is being paid with our tax dollars and who could take care of these responses. Mr. Brooke wrote responses for Auditor Townsend, Plan Director Edson and Plan Commission President Jason Henderson, all of whom receive a salary from the county. There were also three complaints of Open Door Law violations against the Board of Zoning Appeals. What is really strange is that the president of this board, Jerry Acres, who is not paid a cent by the county, wrote and submitted his own responses to the public access counselor and did not charge the county anything for his time. According to the Indiana public access counselor website, it ruled in favor of Mr. Acres every time and said he and the board never violated any Open Door Laws. On one, it said the board took action on an item not placed on the agenda, but the commissioners do that nearly every meeting and somehow that is OK.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Treasure the life you have I was asked by a reader what my thought on what life is for me in my late years. So here I go with some of my thoughts, but don’t think I am just making them up as I go. Life to me is the time between the day I was born and the day that I am called h

    August 23, 2014

  • Cheers and Jeers Taste of Kokomo accommodationSusie and Andy Castner send this Cheer:“A cheer to Randy Morris, City of Kokomo Park Supt. for accommodating our family for the David Cook concert at Taste of Kokomo. It made it so much easier for our mom to get to seatin

    August 23, 2014

  • State challengesfederal government Recently, some have questioned why the State of Indiana has brought lawsuits against our federal government. While this litigation is adversarial by nature, it is a necessary part of our constitutional process. What distinguishes the U.S. Constitutio

    August 23, 2014

  • Aug. 23: Letters to the Editor Paying for lack of leadershipThe salaries of the Board of County Commissioners and the complete funding of the Local Economic Development Organization, is from taxes paid by the residents of Tipton County. The actions of these two entities are unacce

    August 23, 2014

  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll