Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 25, 2014

Jan. 25, 2014: Cheers & Jeers

‘Heavenly souls who care’

The staff and board of the Mental Health Association send this Cheer:

“The Mental Health Association would like to gratefully thank the volunteers, businesses and donations made during the holiday season.

“To the United Way, staff, loan associates and board of directors, for working the campaign to keep all the non-profits running. What a great group of people. To Community Howard Regional Health for collaborating with MHA in dealing with shared clients. Thanks, Jim Alender and all his staff.

“To WWKI, We Care and all the volunteers that make this event a great one. We receive monies to buy, wrap and staff a program called ‘Christmas Gift Lift.’ It served more than 600 people this year (the largest ever in 63 years of origin) and made a great many consumers happy and less-stressed. To Jean Lushin and the Center Township Trustee’s Office for supporting our Social Club and the community with needed assistance. To the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library and Lisa Fipps for making MHA the recipient of their wreath auction and for thinking of those in nursing homes and group homes who do not receive gifts, except the ones given by MHA. To the Rotary Early Morning Risers for donating new cardigan sweaters for those in the nursing homes. These are a needed items to keep those patients warm. To Wal-Mart for volunteering their employees for wrapping and giving through the Wal-Mart Grant Foundation financial assistance with the Gift Lift. To Wal-Mart, Kmart and Big Lots for donating items for our clients to enjoy. To Sunsout Puzzle Co. for donating new and large puzzles for Christmas. Clients with time on their hands really need and enjoy things like puzzles to keep them busy and happy.

“These businesses are very community orientated, and we appreciate them for helping others: Kroger’s for faithfully (every week) giving food so we can serve the clients at Social Club and give any remaining to other non-profits to help feed mutual consumers. Kokomo Perspective and Kokomo Tribune for printing stories on mental health problems and many of our programs. Thanks to both, especially Alyx Arnett and Carson Gerber. Panera Bread and Coca-Cola (Craig, a big community guy) for always coming through when needed. Bless you both. Tom Rethlake and Eriks Chevrolet for keeping our van on the road to pick up clients and donations. Food Finders (Lafayette), which got us non-food salvage to give to our community in the way of basic needs. Bucheri, McCarty and Metz, along with Half Moon Restaurant, for their generous donations. Community First Bank (Sally Duke) and Ivy Tech College (Sally Vyain), who collected new items such as hygiene products, DVDs and CDs to place in the Christmas bags. Local churches who hosted events such as the Center Road Church of Christ (Rusty Maynard), who every year has generously given our clients a Thanksgiving dinner, and their youth group who decorate the Gift Lift bags with their own personal art. First Baptist Church’s Women of Faith who bake and decorate birthday cakes for Social Club when we celebrate all the clients who were born in a certain month. Mennonite Church, which feeds the consumers from the Logansport State Hospital a Christmas feast. Onward Christian Church, which made the Christmas cupcakes for one of the Christmas parties. Yum!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll