Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 25, 2014

Jan. 25, 2014: Cheers & Jeers

‘Heavenly souls who care’

The staff and board of the Mental Health Association send this Cheer:

“The Mental Health Association would like to gratefully thank the volunteers, businesses and donations made during the holiday season.

“To the United Way, staff, loan associates and board of directors, for working the campaign to keep all the non-profits running. What a great group of people. To Community Howard Regional Health for collaborating with MHA in dealing with shared clients. Thanks, Jim Alender and all his staff.

“To WWKI, We Care and all the volunteers that make this event a great one. We receive monies to buy, wrap and staff a program called ‘Christmas Gift Lift.’ It served more than 600 people this year (the largest ever in 63 years of origin) and made a great many consumers happy and less-stressed. To Jean Lushin and the Center Township Trustee’s Office for supporting our Social Club and the community with needed assistance. To the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library and Lisa Fipps for making MHA the recipient of their wreath auction and for thinking of those in nursing homes and group homes who do not receive gifts, except the ones given by MHA. To the Rotary Early Morning Risers for donating new cardigan sweaters for those in the nursing homes. These are a needed items to keep those patients warm. To Wal-Mart for volunteering their employees for wrapping and giving through the Wal-Mart Grant Foundation financial assistance with the Gift Lift. To Wal-Mart, Kmart and Big Lots for donating items for our clients to enjoy. To Sunsout Puzzle Co. for donating new and large puzzles for Christmas. Clients with time on their hands really need and enjoy things like puzzles to keep them busy and happy.

“These businesses are very community orientated, and we appreciate them for helping others: Kroger’s for faithfully (every week) giving food so we can serve the clients at Social Club and give any remaining to other non-profits to help feed mutual consumers. Kokomo Perspective and Kokomo Tribune for printing stories on mental health problems and many of our programs. Thanks to both, especially Alyx Arnett and Carson Gerber. Panera Bread and Coca-Cola (Craig, a big community guy) for always coming through when needed. Bless you both. Tom Rethlake and Eriks Chevrolet for keeping our van on the road to pick up clients and donations. Food Finders (Lafayette), which got us non-food salvage to give to our community in the way of basic needs. Bucheri, McCarty and Metz, along with Half Moon Restaurant, for their generous donations. Community First Bank (Sally Duke) and Ivy Tech College (Sally Vyain), who collected new items such as hygiene products, DVDs and CDs to place in the Christmas bags. Local churches who hosted events such as the Center Road Church of Christ (Rusty Maynard), who every year has generously given our clients a Thanksgiving dinner, and their youth group who decorate the Gift Lift bags with their own personal art. First Baptist Church’s Women of Faith who bake and decorate birthday cakes for Social Club when we celebrate all the clients who were born in a certain month. Mennonite Church, which feeds the consumers from the Logansport State Hospital a Christmas feast. Onward Christian Church, which made the Christmas cupcakes for one of the Christmas parties. Yum!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll