Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 25, 2014

Jan. 25, 2014: Cheers & Jeers

‘Heavenly souls who care’

The staff and board of the Mental Health Association send this Cheer:

“The Mental Health Association would like to gratefully thank the volunteers, businesses and donations made during the holiday season.

“To the United Way, staff, loan associates and board of directors, for working the campaign to keep all the non-profits running. What a great group of people. To Community Howard Regional Health for collaborating with MHA in dealing with shared clients. Thanks, Jim Alender and all his staff.

“To WWKI, We Care and all the volunteers that make this event a great one. We receive monies to buy, wrap and staff a program called ‘Christmas Gift Lift.’ It served more than 600 people this year (the largest ever in 63 years of origin) and made a great many consumers happy and less-stressed. To Jean Lushin and the Center Township Trustee’s Office for supporting our Social Club and the community with needed assistance. To the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library and Lisa Fipps for making MHA the recipient of their wreath auction and for thinking of those in nursing homes and group homes who do not receive gifts, except the ones given by MHA. To the Rotary Early Morning Risers for donating new cardigan sweaters for those in the nursing homes. These are a needed items to keep those patients warm. To Wal-Mart for volunteering their employees for wrapping and giving through the Wal-Mart Grant Foundation financial assistance with the Gift Lift. To Wal-Mart, Kmart and Big Lots for donating items for our clients to enjoy. To Sunsout Puzzle Co. for donating new and large puzzles for Christmas. Clients with time on their hands really need and enjoy things like puzzles to keep them busy and happy.

“These businesses are very community orientated, and we appreciate them for helping others: Kroger’s for faithfully (every week) giving food so we can serve the clients at Social Club and give any remaining to other non-profits to help feed mutual consumers. Kokomo Perspective and Kokomo Tribune for printing stories on mental health problems and many of our programs. Thanks to both, especially Alyx Arnett and Carson Gerber. Panera Bread and Coca-Cola (Craig, a big community guy) for always coming through when needed. Bless you both. Tom Rethlake and Eriks Chevrolet for keeping our van on the road to pick up clients and donations. Food Finders (Lafayette), which got us non-food salvage to give to our community in the way of basic needs. Bucheri, McCarty and Metz, along with Half Moon Restaurant, for their generous donations. Community First Bank (Sally Duke) and Ivy Tech College (Sally Vyain), who collected new items such as hygiene products, DVDs and CDs to place in the Christmas bags. Local churches who hosted events such as the Center Road Church of Christ (Rusty Maynard), who every year has generously given our clients a Thanksgiving dinner, and their youth group who decorate the Gift Lift bags with their own personal art. First Baptist Church’s Women of Faith who bake and decorate birthday cakes for Social Club when we celebrate all the clients who were born in a certain month. Mennonite Church, which feeds the consumers from the Logansport State Hospital a Christmas feast. Onward Christian Church, which made the Christmas cupcakes for one of the Christmas parties. Yum!

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Smoking ordinance misguided As a subscriber to the printed edition of the Kokomo Tribune, and a non-smoker, I was very interested upon seeing a page one article in the Aug. 13 edition titled “City-wide ban on smoking revealed.” After reading the article, my interest was peaked

    August 22, 2014

  • Why government openness matters Failing to share information makes us weaker. It enfeebles congressional oversight, which is a cornerstone of representative democracy and which, when aggressively carried out by fully informed legislators, can strengthen policy-making. One of the fu

    August 22, 2014

  • Aug. 22: Letters to the Editor Rokita wrong on GMOsThe Aug. 13 Tribune article about Rokita’s “Town Hall Meeting” left out a key issue — Rokita’s co-sponsorship of HR4432. This bill would ban mandatory labeling of currently genetically modified foods and prohibit any state from en

    August 22, 2014

  • Use the law to save lives As college students head back to campus, it’s a good time to remind them of the Indiana Lifeline Law.When the General Assembly passed the law two years ago, the goal was to encourage minors to call for help by giving them immunity from being prosecut

    August 22, 2014

  • It's time to deal with crisis For five and a half years, the president has gone around Congress to ignore, defy and alter laws in a variety of areas, from Obamacare implementation to issuing excessive new labor and environmental rules to infringing on religious freedom. It is no

    August 21, 2014

  • Nation must be united On Aug. 9, unarmed 18-year-old Michael Brown was shot at least six times, including twice in the head, by a police officer. Since that time, protestors and unrest have filled the streets of Ferguson, Missouri, a town near St. Louis.A similar scenario

    August 21, 2014

  • John understands fight against mental illness Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 21, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor Former Kokomoan on FergusonI was a resident of Kokomo from 1992 to 2008. Because of the housing crisis, my wife and I relocated to the St. Louis, Missouri area, which is close to where I grew up. With the eyes of the world focused upon the St. Louis

    August 21, 2014

  • OPN - KT082014 - king What Fergusonsays about us Aug. 9 is a day that Americans lost sight of themselves. It is the day Michael Brown, an 18-year-old black teenager of Ferguson, Mo., a suburb of St. Louis, was shot and killed by a white police officer, Darren Wilson. That evening, and for all but o

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letters to the editor Congrats on wind farm defeat Congratulations to the citizens of Kokomo and Howard County! Your officials have done you a great favor by stopping any further considerations for construction of industrial wind turbines in your area. Now, if the fede

    August 20, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Raw: Egypt Bus Crash Kills at Least 33 Two Bodies Found in Adjacent Yards Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Rescue Efforts Suspended at Japan Landslide Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Raw: Smaller Marches in Ferguson Marathon Suspect's Friend Pleads Guilty Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn Farm Resurgence Grows With Younger Crowd Microbrewery Chooses Special Can for Its Beer Ky. Firefighters Hurt in Ice Bucket Challenge Federal Investigation Will Look at Use of Force Community Deals With Michael Brown Aftermath US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Ferguson Teachers Training to Deal With Trauma Jon Hamm on the Unrest in Ferguson Tit for Tat? McDonald's Shuttered in Moscow Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll