Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 25, 2014

Jan. 25, 2014: Cheers & Jeers

(Continued)

“Chapter J Gold Wingers annually serves food (which they have cooked and brought) along with the Kokomo Eye Care Associates (their first time, and they did great) for the two Christmas parties for Social Club. Sally Duke, who sings carols beautifully, and Lin and Carol Ortman, who play Mr. and Mrs. Santa Claus (every year) hand out gifts to all. Thanks to these great volunteers. Wrappers include Zeta Tau Delta Sorority, Eastern Star, Wal-Mart employees, Women of Faith Group, Women’s Breakfast Club (retired from Delco and Delphi), along with Pat Renshaw, Carol Monroe, Joe Breedlove, Carol Smith with all MHA staff. Shelly Cunningham, who made approximately 150 scarves for our clients who walk in the elements. They were warm and nicely made. Vicki Boles and her Maple Crest Student Council, who made Christmas place mats and helped wrap also. Other school groups that assisted with Social Club were FBLA (Vicki Geheb) from Kokomo High School (and were judges for our Halloween party) and Taylor Key Club. We have some awesome students in this community. Tom Barry Sr. and Tom Barry Jr. for donating one night a month to karaoke with the Social Club participants who definitely appreciate the entertainment. Others who make Social Club fun are Silas Murphy for being a DJ, and Marty Harris as Elvis. Could not make happy times at Social Club without these people. The Masonic Temple is the site for all Gift Lift and Social Club events. Thanks to the Masons for giving us the three huge rooms to be able to do these programs.

“Volunteers at Social Club are Cindy Krause, Pat Renshaw, Janet Dollman, Carol Monroe, Dennis Bennet, Maria McCoy, Jessica and Olivia Thomas, Joe Breedlove, Kent and Jeanette Land, Pam Tina, Beth Donovan and MHA’s board of directors.

“Tony Arnett and Zach Rodman (thanks for your expertise), who taught a group how to defend themselves through our safety program. We have wonderful people in uniforms everywhere.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

  • A great way to offer help The United Way of Howard County does so much for this community that it would be difficult, in this space, to describe even a fraction of the things United Way donations accomplish.Think what Kokomo and Howard County would lose if there were no Court

    July 25, 2014

  • MARK HEINIG JR.: Will Pence, Ritz and their playmates ever grow up? Many Hoosier Republicans are curious about Gov. Mike Pence’s future. He probably is, too. Assuming he doesn’t wish to return to Congress or retire from politics, he must decide whether to seek another term as governor of Indiana or run for president

    July 25, 2014

  • LETTERS: Mast homestead celebrates 150 years Mast homestead celebrates 150 yearsThe two-story frame, Pennsylvania-Dutch style house on the Larry and Barbara Hensler farm 2 miles west of Plevna is 150 years old this year. In fact it may even be a little older than that. Lloyd Hensler used to say

    July 25, 2014

  • LEE HAMILTON: Why congressional incumbents keep getting re-elected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 25, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll