Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 24, 2014

JESSE KHARBANDA: Bill undermines ability to solve state's environmental problems

Let's safeguard health above rigid ideology.

In our less attentive moments, we may look upon Indiana’s air and water quality with a bit of indifference: “The sky looks clear. My tap water seems okay. All seems fine.” But then we’re shaken by news that 300,000 West Virginians, due to a major chemical leak, can’t drink from their water supply for days. Or, we’re reminded of the 1 billion gallon coal ash contamination disaster in 2008 just a few hours south of Indiana’s border. Or Michigan’s 2010 tar sands disaster, the largest in-land oil spill in U.S. history, approaching $1 billion to clean up.

The fact that nearly a decade and a half into the 21st century, our country still finds itself vulnerable to catastrophic environmental situations ought to be sobering. And it ought to be a strong message to the 2014 Indiana General Assembly, and its leaders, Speaker Brian Bosma and President Pro Temp David Long, as well as Gov. Mike Pence, that Indiana should continually ensure that Indiana has the tools that it needs to head off environmental tragedies in our state and improve our public health.

Astonishingly, some legislators are advancing a bill that would move Indiana in reverse. HB 1143, benignly called “no more stringent than,” would weaken Indiana’s ability to head off environmental tragedies like those mentioned above by stripping away the power of Indiana’s executive branch, except potentially in rare circumstances, to develop policies that go beyond what the federal government enacts.

For the proponents of this bill — and many reading this column — the idea of stopping Indiana’s executive branch from going beyond what the federal government requires with respect to environmental protection may sound quite appealing. “The feds are overly aggressive,” they reason, “so why should we want Indiana’s executive branch to pile on even more environmental regulation?” This argument, in the context of HB 1143, is very problematic. First, while the feds have, in certain instances, acted quite forcefully to protect the public’s health, in other cases, the fed’s commitment to safeguard our health has been astonishingly inadequate. Just ask the rural mom worried about the health effects from exposure to animal feces downwind from a factory farm or the family who gets their drinking water from a source contaminated by a coal ash lagoon; in both of these instances, the federal policy response has been very weak. But because the feds have acted — however insufficiently — Indiana’s executive branch would be legally barred, based on the current bill, from taking stronger, but needed action. Second, under federal environmental laws, state governments are typically given the lead to develop plans for meeting federal air and water quality and cleanup goals. However, HB 1143 could paralyze the state’s environmental professionals in implementing those plans, for fear that they would be legally challenged for being more stringent than federal law even when exercising their lawful discretion in implementing such laws.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll