Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 26, 2014

Settling gay marriage debate?

With HJR3, the gay marriage amend-ment, moving toward Republican super-majorities in the House and Senate of the Indiana General Assembly, the likelihood of the measure going before Indiana voters in November has increased substantially.

Both sides say they can win, citing recent polls. Every poll, however, has its bias. Ask someone if they’re against abortion, and they’ll probably answer yes. Ask the same person if they’re in favor of criminal penalties against women who seek abortions and against doctors who provide them, and the percentage of “yes” answers drops precipitously.

Democrats tend to be against the measure, while Republicans, who form a seemingly permanent majority in this state, are showing signs of division.

This week, Howard County Republican Party Chairman Craig Dunn had an insightful column for Howey Politics Indiana, revisiting the history behind the evolution of HJR3. (Read it here: http://bit.ly/LZzvZf)

The idea that state Republicans created a monster (Dunn more politely calls it a “tiger”) back in 2010, by using marriage and abortion to mobilize social conservatives, has more than a bit of truth to it. Then-House minority leader Brian Bosma repeatedly criticized former House Speaker Pat Bauer for refusing to give the gay marriage amendment a hearing.

Bauer’s refusal to hear the bill didn’t save then-State Rep. Ron Herrell from a heavy defeat, and the next year, Bosma quickly passed the resolution, with quite a few Democrats voting in favor of it.

Once and for all

Politics turn on a pendulum, and the tide has certainly started to swing back toward opponents of HJR3, but will it turn quickly enough?

Gov. Mike Pence wants the debate settled “once and for all,” but that’s only likely to happen if HJR3 is defeated. If it fails to make the November ballot, state Republicans, who had a hard time even getting it out of committee, would be unlikely to resurrect it.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll