Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 28, 2014

Compromise for centers

For the past several years before each primary and general election, Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson has ensured voting machines were ready to take ballots by cannibalizing some broken models to keep the others operational.

They’re old. So old, in fact, state certification for the county’s machines was set to expire this year.

Howard County won an extension, but the equipment soon must be replaced.

Wilson and other county officials have been studying the possibility of adopting the vote center concept, which was expanded three years ago by the state Legislature. County leaders have discovered vote centers to be less expensive to operate than traditional polling precincts and more people-friendly for the average voter.

How many to place throughout the county has become a point of contention between the county’s Republican Party chairman, Craig Dunn, and Democratic Party chairman, David Tharp.

Howard County currently has 71 voting precincts within 37 locations. Tharp said Friday he’d prefer somewhere between 22 and 25 vote centers. The Republican-led proposal called for 10 vote centers countywide, with four inside the city of Kokomo.

Cass County residents have cast ballots at vote centers since 2008. The county clerk consolidated 40 precincts into seven vote centers, reducing the number of voting machines and poll workers required to conduct each election.

And voter turnout in Cass County’s 2010 general election suggests vote centers encourage higher participation. Voter turnout in Cass was 51 percent that year; it was 43.9 percent in Howard County.

The Cass County experience suggests a significant reduction won’t adversely affect voter participation. Still, reducing the cost of running elections remains a primary reason for adopting the concept.

Every Indiana county would realize a savings by using vote centers, the Indiana Fiscal Policy Institute says. Four years ago, the non-partisan organization estimated Howard County could save $35,000 a year.

We’re confident a compromise can be reached in Howard County. There’s no need for 25 vote centers, but perhaps election officials can agree to locate as many as seven vote centers along Kokomo’s trolley lines and adopt the concept.

 

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll