Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 29, 2014

House of Burgess: In 140 characters or fewer

A simple guide to using Twitter.

I was ambivalent about Twitter from the beginning, to say the least. Lately, though, I’ve grown to like Twitter. Allow me to lay down the ground rules for how I think people should use it:

REASON FOR BEING

Here are the reasons I use Twitter: to promote my work, interact with friendly followers, retweet things I think are interesting, find and retain new information, store old information and test out new ideas. If you’re a journalist in 2014, you are pretty much required to have a Twitter account. If I didn’t have one already, I’d have to create one. But I’ve had an account for just over five years. I’ve had a Twitter account longer than 99.5 percent of all users, according to Twopcharts. I sometimes think I necessarily have a different perspective on it because of this. Make sure you’re very clear with yourself about why you use Twitter and what you hope to get out of it.

RT ≠ ENDORSEMENT

This phrase has been known to appear in the profiles of many a Twitter user. The intent is to say, for the record: “Just because I retweet something doesn’t mean I agree with it.” This is a good general rule for Twitter and should probably be assumed for most everyone whether they have this phrase in their profile or not.

FOLLOWING BACK

Here’s something I’ve noticed about some Twitter users: There is a certain breed who seems to do nothing but follow everyone they can find. They then wait an arbitrary amount of time and then unfollow if no return follow back has been forthcoming. Understand if someone doesn’t follow you back, you shouldn’t take it personally. People follow people whose content they want to see in their news feed. It also helps if they’ve ever met the person. Speaking for myself, I can think of several people who use Twitter whom I like and respect very much in real life and whom I don’t follow. I just don’t want to see what they have to show me. It has no bearing on my opinion of them as human beings.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • 'Reads' panel narrows titles Howard County Reads, a program introduced in 2004 to cultivate a love of reading and promote a sense of community, is another step closer to selecting a book for its 10th anniversary.In February, county residents began nominating a favorite for consi

    August 1, 2014

  • LETTERS: Concert Series 'beautiful musical experience' Store employees should split prizeSeveral weeks ago, a winning lottery ticket was purchased at one of our larger grocery stores. What I’d like to know is why the upper-management get a large cash prize (which they don’t need) while the employees of t

    August 1, 2014

  • Work program requires buy-in from industry Good help is hard to find.That’s essentially what Indiana companies have insisted for several years. The state struggles with a “skills gap,” the firms explain. They need employees, but can’t find enough — or in some cases, any — qualified Hoosiers.

    August 1, 2014

  • Take a walk to school At the risk of sounding like “old fogies,” we remember walking to school when we were kids.Back in the day, that’s how it was. If it was within walking distance, you were walking to school.Today, like much else, it’s a very different picture. The vas

    July 31, 2014

  • DAN COATS: New Harmony marks its 200th anniversary Situated between St. Louis and Louisville, New Harmony is a small town in southwest Indiana smaller than 1 square mile in area. Fewer than 1,000 Hoosiers call this serene Posey County community home.Despite its size, the town has monumental significa

    July 31, 2014

  • LETTERS: Marriage culture in area must change Marriage culture in area must change Last week's article on the Annie E. Casey Foundation and the Kids Count report caught my eye. While I'm happy that Indiana is improving in the educational domain, the poverty statistics are saddening. I was just s

    July 31, 2014

  • A lookat IU salaries Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 31, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Let's put lethal injection to sleep

    It was only a matter of time before this happened again; and I’m sad to say I’m not surprised at all.
    On July 22, the Supreme Court gave the go-ahead for the killing of Arizona death row inmate James R. Wood III, who had filed suit requesting a delay until the state revealed the details of the drugs that would be used to end his life.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Plot a plan to quit now OK, so maybe today isn’t the perfect day to quit smoking. For years, the experts were preaching any day was a good day to quit, and they had annual campaigns encouraging people to give up the habit.The campaigns raised awareness, and they led many sm

    July 30, 2014

  • LETTERS: City should celebrate its young track star City should celebrate its young track starCongratulations to Tionna Brown, who has given the city of Kokomo the platform to acknowledge what commitment, perseverance, sacrifice and determination can do.I find this a unique opportunity for her Common

    July 30, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll