Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 30, 2014

JEFFREY McCALL: Advertisers waste dollars on Super Bowl commercials

Surveys say viewers ID product brand names 14% of time.

Adver-tisers have lined up again this year to spend huge dollars on commer-cials that will air during the Super Bowl. They might as well be dumping those dollars in the Hudson River as they cross the bridge from Madison Avenue on the way to MetLife Stadium.

A 30-second commercial on the Fox Super Bowl broadcast will cost $4 million. That’s up a million dollars in just four years. It’s the most expensive time on television, and all commercial availabilities have been sold.

Viewers who have little interest in football will still flock to their televisions to watch the Super Bowl commercials, hoping to see this pop culture art form at its best. In spite of the hype and anticipation each year, the commercials often disappoint. As a group, Super Bowl commercials are overproduced and offbeat, have too many special effects and present little focus on the actual product.

Last year’s Super Bowl commercials were creatively unimpressive and practically insignificant. The GoDaddy commercial featured nerdy Walter in a sloppy kiss with supermodel Bar Refaeli. A Doritos commercial featured grown men dressing up like princesses. The commercial for Oreos featured a brawl at a library. Library brawls always make people want to buy cookies.

Beyond the stupid factor in many Super Bowl commercials, however, is the negative social messaging found in some of these expensive, high-profile ads. Last year’s Taco Bell commercial portrayed senior citizens who escaped a retirement home in a mocking and clownish manner. Commercials for Axe Apollo and Speed Stick deodorants portrayed women in highly sexualized ways.

The companies wasting money to place ads in the Super Bowl broadcast apparently don’t realize how hard it is to get Super Bowl viewers to focus on commercials. Many viewers are watching the big game at parties, in large groups or in bars. The noise and distractions in these settings make it quite difficult for viewers to follow the commercial storyline or get the product’s message.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Vasicek: Celebrating Easter I have shared a few bits of Easter humor over the years, so I thought I’d start with a new one. Joseph of Arimathea was the wealthy Pharisee who is famous for helping to bury the body of Jesus. He procured the body, asking Pilate’s permission, and, w

    April 20, 2014

  • Public Eye: Was Turner the only one?

    CNHI Statehouse Bureau Chief Maureen Hayden and other Statehouse reporters didn't get an answer as to why the House ethics committee hearing concerning State Rep. Eric Turner was postponed, but it now appears the committee will meet Wednesday. A note

    April 20, 2014

  • DAY: God trusted us with them Well, you heard about my wife and I, and our families from the past, so it is time for me to tell you about two of the prettiest girls I have ever known. They are our daughters Debbie and Patty. They are the greatest gifts from God that we have had i

    April 19, 2014

  • LoBianco: Bigger ethics questions raised in House Turner review

    Members of the House Ethics Committee who will take up Rep. Eric Turner’s case face daunting tasks as they try to answer two questions: Did their powerful colleague violate any ethics rules in privately lobbying against a measure that would have hurt his family’s business?

    April 18, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2014

    Attendees at the Tipton County Board of Commissioners meeting April 7 were treated to an appalling lack of both action and concern by the commissioners.

    April 18, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll