Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 30, 2014

JEFFREY McCALL: Advertisers waste dollars on Super Bowl commercials

Surveys say viewers ID product brand names 14% of time.

Adver-tisers have lined up again this year to spend huge dollars on commer-cials that will air during the Super Bowl. They might as well be dumping those dollars in the Hudson River as they cross the bridge from Madison Avenue on the way to MetLife Stadium.

A 30-second commercial on the Fox Super Bowl broadcast will cost $4 million. That’s up a million dollars in just four years. It’s the most expensive time on television, and all commercial availabilities have been sold.

Viewers who have little interest in football will still flock to their televisions to watch the Super Bowl commercials, hoping to see this pop culture art form at its best. In spite of the hype and anticipation each year, the commercials often disappoint. As a group, Super Bowl commercials are overproduced and offbeat, have too many special effects and present little focus on the actual product.

Last year’s Super Bowl commercials were creatively unimpressive and practically insignificant. The GoDaddy commercial featured nerdy Walter in a sloppy kiss with supermodel Bar Refaeli. A Doritos commercial featured grown men dressing up like princesses. The commercial for Oreos featured a brawl at a library. Library brawls always make people want to buy cookies.

Beyond the stupid factor in many Super Bowl commercials, however, is the negative social messaging found in some of these expensive, high-profile ads. Last year’s Taco Bell commercial portrayed senior citizens who escaped a retirement home in a mocking and clownish manner. Commercials for Axe Apollo and Speed Stick deodorants portrayed women in highly sexualized ways.

The companies wasting money to place ads in the Super Bowl broadcast apparently don’t realize how hard it is to get Super Bowl viewers to focus on commercials. Many viewers are watching the big game at parties, in large groups or in bars. The noise and distractions in these settings make it quite difficult for viewers to follow the commercial storyline or get the product’s message.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • The progress we're making Every Howard County school district published an annual report in Tuesday's edition of the Kokomo Tribune. They're required by the Indiana Department of Education, and they're worth a read. The reports assembled the most recent data available on stud

    April 23, 2014

  • ROB BURGESS: You've gotta keep 'em separated In my career as a journalist I have served my time reporting on city council, county supervisor and state regulatory meetings, to name just a few. Whatever else they might have been, they weren't holy places. In the many, many hours I spent there I n

    April 23, 2014

  • ANDREA NEAL: A committee of 10 picked Ind. capital Editor's note: This is one in a series of essays leading up to the celebration of the Indiana Bicentennial in December 2016. Anyone who's ever served on a committee can relate to the old laugh line: A committee is a group of people who keep minutes a

    April 23, 2014

  • LETTERS: Correct mistakes May 6; RNC & pals Voting mistakes can be corrected May 6 For the last several months, it seems that I keep hearing one recurring conversation. People cannot believe the arrogance being shown by some of our elected officials towards the people of Tipton County. The sam

    April 23, 2014

  • Take a stand this election Howard County Clerk Kim Wilson's office always is busy this time of year -- but more so before an election. Absentee voting for the May 6 primary election began April 8. We, too, expect more activity. We soon will receive an avalanche of candidate en

    April 22, 2014

  • MAUREEN HAYDEN: Judge in gay marriage decision is no activist When U.S. District Judge Richard Young recently ruled in favor of a lesbian couple seeking recognition of their out-of-state marriage, opponents of same-sex unions called him an activist judge who was unilaterally trampling the law. The label didn't

    April 22, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Turner ethics case tests bounds of 'citizen legislature' When a legislative ethics panel meets this week to review the case of House Speaker Pro Tem Eric Turner, members could have trouble finding clear-cut answers, in large part because of the Indiana General Assembly's status as a "citizen legislature."

    April 22, 2014

  • April 22, 2014: Letters to the editor Tipton incorporated earlier than known? A Nickel Plate Trail sign was recently put up in the northwest corner of the Tipton County Courthouse lawn. The center circle wording states the town of Tipton was founded in 1833, which is eleven years before

    April 22, 2014

  • Cleaning up Indiana could be as easy as a bottle deposit Scan the roadside on a drive through the Wabash Valley, and you might spot an empty pop bottle or two. Or two dozen. Or 200. Drink bottles have become our litter du jour. They compose an estimated 40 to 60 percent of all litter, according to the Mich

    April 21, 2014

  • Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 21, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll