Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

January 30, 2014

JEFFREY McCALL: Advertisers waste dollars on Super Bowl commercials

Surveys say viewers ID product brand names 14% of time.

Adver-tisers have lined up again this year to spend huge dollars on commer-cials that will air during the Super Bowl. They might as well be dumping those dollars in the Hudson River as they cross the bridge from Madison Avenue on the way to MetLife Stadium.

A 30-second commercial on the Fox Super Bowl broadcast will cost $4 million. That’s up a million dollars in just four years. It’s the most expensive time on television, and all commercial availabilities have been sold.

Viewers who have little interest in football will still flock to their televisions to watch the Super Bowl commercials, hoping to see this pop culture art form at its best. In spite of the hype and anticipation each year, the commercials often disappoint. As a group, Super Bowl commercials are overproduced and offbeat, have too many special effects and present little focus on the actual product.

Last year’s Super Bowl commercials were creatively unimpressive and practically insignificant. The GoDaddy commercial featured nerdy Walter in a sloppy kiss with supermodel Bar Refaeli. A Doritos commercial featured grown men dressing up like princesses. The commercial for Oreos featured a brawl at a library. Library brawls always make people want to buy cookies.

Beyond the stupid factor in many Super Bowl commercials, however, is the negative social messaging found in some of these expensive, high-profile ads. Last year’s Taco Bell commercial portrayed senior citizens who escaped a retirement home in a mocking and clownish manner. Commercials for Axe Apollo and Speed Stick deodorants portrayed women in highly sexualized ways.

The companies wasting money to place ads in the Super Bowl broadcast apparently don’t realize how hard it is to get Super Bowl viewers to focus on commercials. Many viewers are watching the big game at parties, in large groups or in bars. The noise and distractions in these settings make it quite difficult for viewers to follow the commercial storyline or get the product’s message.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

  • LETTERS: Putting economics before responsibility Veterans, retirees need tax deductionsAre you receiving either an Indiana property tax Veterans Disability Deduction or an Over 65 Deduction? I was, however, this year I learned otherwise. My property taxes payable this year, as compared to the prope

    July 27, 2014

  • MICHAEL HICKS: Truth about inflation Almost nothing in economics seems to confuse people as much as monetary inflation. That confusion leaves an intellectual void into which some of the least credible ideas of the modern world crawl.Goods and services typically have a price dictated in

    July 27, 2014

  • CHEERS & JEERS: Livestock donations appreciated; what's a GMO? Thanks to folks at Kokomo BeachCarrie Giannakos, professional relations coordinator at Jarrell Orthodontics, sends this Cheer on behalf of the dental practice:“Dr. Kevin Jarrell and the team at Jarrell Orthodontics want to send a Cheer to the staff a

    July 26, 2014

  • RAY DAY: Some laws will do us in In my opinion, we have made laws that are contrary to what they were intended. And this writer is going to let you in on his thoughts about them. One of the things that has been processed incorrectly is the child abuse law. When you tell the parent h

    July 26, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll