Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Breaking News

Opinion

January 30, 2014

Jan. 30, 2014: Letters to the editor

State officials should waive all snow days

I do greatly appreciate my children’s school keeping them safe during this crazy winter. The only question I have is: Why is it that the state won’t waive these days?

This winter weather has affected practically the whole state of Indiana, which says to me no school should have to make up these days because they were left with no other choice except to keep the children and staff safe by canceling school.

I also do not feel that by waiving these days means that the schools are failing our children. Instead they have taught them that their schools care about their safety, even when they are not in the school building.

If parents are so upset about their children losing school days, then this is the time parents step up and sit down with their children to talk to them, read to them or with them, practice math skills by using real-life situations like shopping for groceries (if you give the cashier this much money, you get back how much change?) and so many more lessons.

I do not feel that all schools are failing the students, however, I do feel a lot of parents have taken a back seat to helping their children continue learning when school is out. Which means they are failing their own children.

So why is it schools have to scramble to figure out how to make up days that were beyond their control? Perhaps someone can give me an answer so I can understand this more clearly.

Anginette Ankney

Peru

We need leaderswho stand for good

I would like to comment on Jim Richardson’s recent letter, agreeing with him completely. We are “sitting back and letting this all happen,” but what can WE do?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Letter to the Editor: April 17, 2014

    On March 20 of this year I attended a public meeting of the Tipton County Economic Development Alliance. Members of this group include the three county commissioners, a member of the county council, two members from the city council, and the mayor.

    April 17, 2014

  • Hicks: Measuring the unmeasurable

    One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things that humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent. This is one of the aspects of economic analysis that gives it such dominance over other social sciences.

    April 17, 2014

  • Rob Burgess House of Burgess: Bush presents 'The Art of Leadership'

    On April 5, “The Art of Leadership: A President’s Personal Diplomacy,” opened at the George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum on the campus of Southern Methodist University. The display, which runs through June 3, boasts “portraits of more than two dozen world leaders” painted by Bush, according to the official literature.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Bohanon: ‘Economics is fun’ in Vegas or in Bible study

    I am writing this on an airplane to Las Vegas. I’ll be attending the annual conference of the Association of Private Enterprise Education along with two of my colleagues and six of my students.

    April 16, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 16, 2014

    At the time the agenda for the April 7 commissioner meeting came out, I was happy to see that the neglected commissioner board appointments were finally going to be addressed. These appointments had been in limbo for months on end.

    April 16, 2014

  • Hayden: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids

    The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards.
    That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation data were released last week.

    April 15, 2014

  • Letters to the Editor: April 15, 2014

    In a recent “public eye” article written by KT columnist Scott Smith about the proposed industrial wind turbine project; mention was made of the “new deal” brokered by Howard County Commissioners with E.ON.

    April 15, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: Mike Pence for president in 2016? Stay tuned Mike Pence for president? The swirl of 2016 national ticket talk surrounding Gov. Pence intensified over the past few weeks. I sat down with the governor in his office on Tuesday to find out what he's really thinking. A few hours prior, the Weekly S

    April 14, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: Such a thing as too much My wife and I went on a binge last week. If you think I'm talking about an eating binge, you've never seen how thin we both are. If you think I mean a shopping binge, you don't know how cheap we are. And if you think it was a cleaning binge, you've n

    April 14, 2014

  • April 14, 2014: Letters to the editor Watch for bicyclists on roadways, drivers When you ride a bike near a semi, there are at least four blind spots where the driver can't see you. We need to be careful when we ride near trucks. If we get hit by a semi, it's usually our fault. But we ne

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll