Kokomo Tribune; Kokomo, Indiana

Opinion

February 28, 2013

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 28, 2013

We should question wind farm efficiency

One of juwi Wind’s claims is that the Prairie Breeze Wind Farm will provide electricity to 56,000 homes by generating 150 megawatts of energy.

With some investigation, common sense and a little bit of math, that number is closer to 1,000.

Assuming my home uses the average amount of electricity for a home, it used about 2,100 kilowatts per hour (1 kilowatt equals 1,000 watts) of power in December. Converting this to watts would be 2,100 x 1,000 / 744 = 2,822 watts. The 744 equals the number of hours in December.

Assuming the industrial wind turbines are running at 100 percent, 24 hours every single day, then 53,142 homes could be powered.

But 150 megawatts is not really the power generated. The industrial wind turbines are only generating power at about 12.7 percent of usable output — representing wind power’s contribution to consumption, according to the Energy Information Agency.

So, this lowers the output of 150 megawatt industrial wind turbines to about 6,749 homes.

But that’s not all: Over time, dead bugs and other debris build up on the turbine blades. According to the numbers from California’s wind farms, this build up has been shown to halve the maximum power generated by a wind turbine, reducing the average power generated by 25 percent and more. The amount of bug buildup is attributed to the lack of birds and bats that have been driven away or killed by turbines.

So the number of homes is reduced to 5,061 that can be powered.

And there’s more — or less, actually: The head of Xcel Energy in the U.S., Wayne Brunetti, has said, “We’re a big supporter of wind, but at the time when customers have the greatest needs, it’s typically not available.” The U.S. Department of Energy said the load factor or capacity factor of wind speed is usable only about 20 percent of the time. Even if 150 megawatts are produced in one particular hour, if it is not used, it is lost because it cannot be stored.

So the number of homes that can be powered during the morning and evening hours is now reduced to 1,012.

On top of that, the electricity that actually is produced will not go to Tipton County. It will not benefit those who have to suffer living with these industrial machines that are not even efficient.

If we want to produce energy for Tipton County, we can buy just one gas-powered Siemens Westinghouse model GTG1543 33 MegaWatt generator that would supply power to 11,000 homes for $650,000. Also, this generator is made in the United States by American workers. And, yes, it might cost another $650,000 to install it. But that’s $1.3 million for a gas-powered generator that would probably do the job of all 94 wind turbines that juwi is proposing.

If this could be done for about $1.3 million, why is the other $299 million needed?

The energy claims for the wind farm project are pretty far fetched. The only thing green about the industrial wind turbines is the $300 million taxpayers are burning and sending to Germany.

John West, Sharpsville

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Schools need kids' parents For school-age children in southern Miami County — and their parents — this is a seminal week. Classes start at Maconaquah schools on Friday.School starts for the rest of the Kokomo area next week.Before your children head back to school, ensure they

    July 29, 2014

  • TOM LoBIANCO: Pence, Bayh crowd field with questions In the 2016 political landscape, a pair of the state's political big dogs -- Republican Gov. Mike Pence and former Democratic U.S. Sen. Evan Bayh -- have potential candidates holding their breath and waiting on them. Until Pence says otherwise, he's

    July 29, 2014

  • LETTERS: No excuse letting trimmings rot at curb No excuse for letting trimmings rot at curbWe live in a recently annexed, east-side subdivision — a nice, clean, well-kept subdivision where almost all homeowners take pride in and maintain their homes and lawns.Before the annexation, we paid for our

    July 29, 2014

  • JEFFREY McCALL: All things Hillary are not news, just distractions This column has nothing to do with who should or will win the presidential election in 2016. It has nothing to do with partisan politics of any flavor. This column does, however, assess how television is oversaturating the "news" agenda with countles

    July 29, 2014

  • BRIAN HOWEY: World is rising up to meet Putin's thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 28, 2014

  • LETTERS: Parents taking fun out of youth sports Parents taking fun out of youth sports I enjoyed reading the article, "Nation's youth sports leagues on troubling decline," by Bill Stanczykiewicz, CEO of the Indiana Youth Institute, and the last paragraph, a quote by Dr. Bill Dexter, president of t

    July 28, 2014

  • DICK WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 28, 2014

  • WEEKLY WRAP: Legal marriages should be honored Legal marriages should be honoredAn eager and probably nervous couple stands before a minister or a judge or a county clerk and exchanges vows, accepting the legal, moral and ethical obligations of a marriage.The couple has properly obtained a marria

    July 28, 2014

  • Right-to-work unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 27, 2014

  • ED VASICEK: Happy marriages do not just happen My wife, Marylu, and I met through a mutual friend. My wife had been involved with Campus Crusade at her university, where my friend, Norman, also attended. One Christmas break, Norman invited his friends from church (including me) to a party — along

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
Only on our website
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Obituaries
Poll